Fil d'ariane

Agrégateur de contenus

angle-left Andrey Cybulsky, M.D.

Scientifique senior, IR-CUSM, site Glen

Programme de recherche en désordres métaboliques et leurs complications

Professeur, Département de médecine, Division de néphrologie, Faculté de médecine, Université McGill

 

Mots-clés


cell injury • glomerulonephritis • phospholipases • protein kinases • stress proteins

Aire de recherche


Les maladies du glomérule rénal, qui sert d’unité de filtration du rein – surtout les maladies initiées par des processus immunologiques, connues comme étant la glomérulonéphrite – représentent environ la moitié des causes de maladie chronique du rein au Canada. La recherche fondamentale sur les mécanismes perturbés menant à la glomérulonéphrite est essentielle à la compréhension de ces maladies, une compréhension qui mènera ultimement à la thérapie et peut-être même à la prévention. Notre recherche se concentre sur la compréhension des mécanismes de la maladie cellulaire glomérulaire. Nous employons des modèles animaux expérimentaux et des approches moléculaires, biochimiques et d’imagerie cellulaire afin d’élucider la pathophysiologie de la maladie glomérulaire humaine impliquant le podocyte. L’objectif ultime de notre recherche est de comprendre la pathophysiologie de la blessure de podocytes afin de développer des tests diagnostiques biologiques et des thérapies basées sur les mécanismes pour la glomérulonéphrite humaine. Nous avons trois thèmes de recherche : la caractérisation de médiateurs et le développement de thérapies pour les glomérulopathies impliquant la blessure de podocytes; la matrice extracellulaire et le cytosquelette comme déterminants de la réponse de signalisation dans les podocytes et les cibles thérapeutiques potentielles; et la protéine kinase, SLK, un nouveau médiateur de l’intégrité du podocyte et de la perméabilité sélective glomérulaire.

Publications choisies


Cliquez sur Pubmed pour voir la liste de mes publications

  • Jaberi A, Hooker E, Guillemette J, Papillon J, Kristof AS, Cybulsky AV. Identification of Tpr and α-actinin-4 as two novel SLK-interacting proteins. Biochim Biophys Acta Mol Cell Res. 2015, 1853, 2539-2552.

  • Elimam H, Papillon J, Kaufman DR, Guillemette J, Aoudjit L, Gross RW, Takano T, Cybulsky AV. Genetic ablation of calcium-independent phospholipase A2γ induces glomerular injury in mice. J Biol Chem. 2016, 291, 14468-14482.

  • Kaufman DR, Papillon J, Larose L, Iwawaki T, Cybulsky AV. Deletion of inositol-requiring enzyme-1α in podocytes disrupts glomerular capillary integrity and autophagy. Mol Biol Cell. 2017, 28, 1636-1651.

  • Cybulsky AV, Papillon J, Guillemette J, Belkina N, Patino-Lopez G, Torban E. Ste20-like kinase, SLK, a novel mediator of podocyte integrity. Am J Physiol. 2018, 315, F186-F198.

  • Yee A, Papillon J, Guillemette J, Kaufman DR, Kennedy CRJ, Cybulsky AV. Proteostasis as a therapeutic target in glomerular injury associated with mutant alpha-actinin-4. Am J Physiol. 2018, 315, F954-F966.

Asset Publisher

angle-left Andrey Cybulsky, MD

Senior Scientist, RI-MUHC, Glen site

Metabolic Disorders and Complications Program

Professor, Department of Medicine, Division of Nephrology, Faculty of Medicine, McGill University

 

Keywords


cell injury • glomerulonephritis • phospholipases • protein kinases • stress proteins

Research Focus


Diseases of the renal glomerulus, which acts as the filtering unit of the kidney – especially those diseases initiated by immunological processes (glomerulonephritis) – account for approximately half of the causes of chronic kidney disease in Canada. Fundamental research into the disordered mechanisms that lead to glomerulonephritis is essential to the understanding of these diseases, an understanding that will ultimately lead to therapy and perhaps prevention. Our research is directed at understanding the mechanisms of glomerular cell injury. We employ experimental animal models and molecular, biochemical and cell imaging approaches to elucidate the pathophysiology of human glomerular disease involving the podocyte. The ultimate goal of our research is to comprehensively understand the pathophysiology of podocyte injury in order to develop diagnostic bioassays and mechanism-based therapies for human glomerulonephritis. We study three research themes: characterization of mediators and development of therapies for glomerulopathies involving podocyte injury; extracellular matrix and cytoskeleton as determinants of signaling responses in podocytes and potential therapeutic targets; and protein kinase, SLK, a novel mediator of podocyte integrity and glomerular permselectivity.

Selected Publications


Click on Pubmed to see my current publications list

  • Jaberi A, Hooker E, Guillemette J, Papillon J, Kristof AS, Cybulsky AV. Identification of Tpr and α-actinin-4 as two novel SLK-interacting proteins. Biochim Biophys Acta Mol Cell Res. 2015, 1853, 2539-2552.

  • Elimam H, Papillon J, Kaufman DR, Guillemette J, Aoudjit L, Gross RW, Takano T, Cybulsky AV. Genetic ablation of calcium-independent phospholipase A2γ induces glomerular injury in mice. J Biol Chem. 2016, 291, 14468-14482.

  • Kaufman DR, Papillon J, Larose L, Iwawaki T, Cybulsky AV. Deletion of inositol-requiring enzyme-1α in podocytes disrupts glomerular capillary integrity and autophagy. Mol Biol Cell. 2017, 28, 1636-1651.

  • Cybulsky AV, Papillon J, Guillemette J, Belkina N, Patino-Lopez G, Torban E. Ste20-like kinase, SLK, a novel mediator of podocyte integrity. Am J Physiol. 2018, 315, F186-F198.

  • Yee A, Papillon J, Guillemette J, Kaufman DR, Kennedy CRJ, Cybulsky AV. Proteostasis as a therapeutic target in glomerular injury associated with mutant alpha-actinin-4. Am J Physiol. 2018, 315, F954-F966.