Fil d'ariane

Agrégateur de contenus

angle-left Ari-Nareg Meguerditchian, MD, MSc, FRCS(C), FACS

Scientifique, IR-CUSM, 5252 de Maisonneuve

Programme de recherche sur le cancer

Professeur agrégé, Département de chirurgie et oncologie, Université McGill Membre, Groupe de recherche informatique clinique et de santé, Université McGill

 

Mots-clés


Résultats cliniques • cancer • qualité des soins • directives de traitement • outils en informatique médicale

Aire de recherche


Ma recherche porte sur le développement d'outils permettant d'assurer la qualité dans la prestation des soins associés au cancer au sein de la communauté. Les avancées de la science ont fait de ce problème de santé majeur une maladie traitable; cependant, près d'un tiers des patients diagnostiqués avec le cancer ne reçoivent pas les soins recommandés. Ces déviations des meilleurs soins ont été documentées pour tous les aspects de la gestion du cancer, du dépistage et diagnostic au post-traitement, en passant par le suivi et les soins en fin de vie. Elles ont un impact sur la récurrence, la survie, la qualité de vie et les coûts. Les déviations à la qualité des soins associés au cancer soulèvent d'importantes questions concernant le transfert des connaissances scientifiques à la pratique clinique. Les interventions visant à gérer ces déviations sont actuellement mises à l'épreuve par l'absence d'une stratégie de surveillance intégrative des soins associés au cancer. La technologie d'informatique médicale (TIM) représente l'outil idéal pour aborder ce problème. Nous visons le développement d'outils informatiques qui pourraient nous permettre d'intégrer des référentiels de données courantes de nature clinique, associées au service et à la compétence existants et maintenus séparément à l'aide de la TIM.

Publications choisies


  • Meguerditchian AN, Dauphinee D, Girard N, Eguale T, Riedel KE, Jacques A, Meterissian SM, Buckeridge DL, Abrahamowicz M, Tamblyn R. Do Physician Communication Skills Influence Screening Mammography Utilization? BMC Health Services Research, 2012 July 25(12): 219

  • Krotneva S, Reidel KE, Verma A, Mayo N, Tamblyn R, Meguerditchian AN. Factors Influencing Quality of Local Management of Ductal Carcinoma in Situ: A Cohort Study. Current Oncology 2013 June 20(3): e212-222.

  • Krotneva S, Reidel K, Nassif M, Mayo N, Tamblyn R, Meguerditchian AN. Rates and Predictors of Consideration for Adjuvant Radiotherapy among high-risk Breast Cancer patients: A Cohort Study. Breast Cancer Research and Treatment 2013 July 140(2): 397-405.

  • Tamblyn R, Huang AH, Meguerditchian AN, Winslade NE, Rochefort C, Buckeridge D, Jacques A, Naicker K, Reidel KE, Eguale T, Forster A. Using Novel Canadian Resources to Improve Medication Reconciliation at Discharge: Study Protocol for a Randomized Controlled Trial. Trials. 2012 August; 15:150. 13:150.

  • Meguerditchian AN, Stewart A, Malin K, Roistacher J, Watroba N, Cropp M, Edge SB. Claims Data Linked to Hospital Registry Data Enhance Evaluation of the Quality of Care of Breast Cancer. Journal of Surgical Oncology 2010; 101: 593-599.

Search by alphabetical order

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Back

Ari Meguerditchian, MD, MSc, FRCS(C), FACS

Research Institute of the McGill University Health Centre

Regular Member
Cancer
Health Outcomes


McGill University Health Centre (MUHC)

Surgical Oncologist, McGill University Health Centre


McGill University

Assistant Professor, Departments of Surgery and Oncology, McGill University Member, Clinical and Health Informatics Research Group, McGill University


Research Interest


My research focuses on developing tools that ensure quality in the delivery of cancer care across the community. Advances in science have made this major health problem a treatable disease, yet up to a third of patients diagnosed with cancer do not receive recommended care. These deviations from best care have been documented for all aspects of cancer management, from screening and diagnosis, to post-treatment follow-up and end-of-life care. They impact recurrence, survival, quality of life and costs. Deviations in cancer care quality raise important questions about translating scientific knowledge into clinical practice. Interventions to manage these deviations are currently challenged by the lack of an integrated cancer care monitoring strategy. Health informatics technology (HIT) represents the ideal tool to address this challenge. We aim to develop informatic tools that would allow us to integrate currently existing and separately maintained clinical, service, and competency data repositories using HIT.

Research Foci


  • treatment adherence and persistence
  • post-operative outcomes
  • guideline compliance
  • health informatics technology (HIT)
  • medication reconciliation
  • health service utilization

Keywords


Health outcomes, cancer, quality of care, treatment guidelines, health informatics tools

Selected Publications


  • Meguerditchian AN, Dauphinee D, Girard N, Eguale T, Riedel KE, Jacques A, Meterissian SM, Buckeridge DL, Abrahamowicz M, Tamblyn R. Do Physician Communication Skills Influence Screening Mammography Utilization? BMC Health Services Research, 2012 July 25(12): 219

  • Krotneva S, Reidel KE, Verma A, Mayo N, Tamblyn R, Meguerditchian AN. Factors Influencing Quality of Local Management of Ductal Carcinoma in Situ: A Cohort Study. Current Oncology 2013 June 20(3): e212-222.

  • Krotneva S, Reidel K, Nassif M, Mayo N, Tamblyn R, Meguerditchian AN. Rates and Predictors of Consideration for Adjuvant Radiotherapy among high-risk Breast Cancer patients: A Cohort Study. Breast Cancer Research and Treatment 2013 July 140(2): 397-405.

  • Tamblyn R, Huang AH, Meguerditchian AN, Winslade NE, Rochefort C, Buckeridge D, Jacques A, Naicker K, Reidel KE, Eguale T, Forster A. Using Novel Canadian Resources to Improve Medication Reconciliation at Discharge: Study Protocol for a Randomized Controlled Trial. Trials. 2012 August; 15:150. 13:150.

  • Meguerditchian AN, Stewart A, Malin K, Roistacher J, Watroba N, Cropp M, Edge SB. Claims Data Linked to Hospital Registry Data Enhance Evaluation of the Quality of Care of Breast Cancer. Journal of Surgical Oncology 2010; 101: 593-599.