Newsletter - Banner

Fil d'ariane

Agrégateur de contenus

angle-left Le Dr Donald Sheppard élu à l’American Society for Clinical Investigation

Le Dr Donald Sheppard, professeur aux départements de médecine et de microbiologie et immunologie de la Faculté de médecine de l’Université McGill et scientifique à l’Institut de recherche du Centre universitaire de santé McGill, est le seul Canadien parmi les 78 cliniciens-chercheurs nommés à l’American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI) en 2018. La cérémonie d’intronisation a eu lieu le 20 avril au Fairmont Chicago, dans le cadre du congrès annuel conjoint de l’ASCI, de l’Association of American Physicians et de l’American Physician Scientists Association.

L’une des anciennes et prestigieuses associations honorifiques du milieu médical aux États-Unis, l’ASCI oeuvre en appui aux efforts scientifiques, aux besoins de formation et aux aspirations cliniques des cliniciens-chercheurs qui visent à améliorer la santé de tous. Issus de toutes les spécialités médicales, les quelque 3 000 membres de l’association y ont été élus en raison de leurs réalisations remarquables en recherche biomédicale. L’ASCI élit annuellement jusqu’à 80 nouveaux membres sélectionnés parmi les centaines de candidatures reçues des membres existants.

« À titre de clinicien-chercheur, je suis profondément honoré de voir ainsi reconnue la contribution de nos travaux à la santé des patients atteints de mycoses invasives », affirme le Dr Sheppard. « Cette réussite aurait été impossible sans l’énergie et la créativité de nombreux étudiants et stagiaires mcgillois avec lesquels j’ai eu le privilège de travailler au cours des 14 dernières années. »

En savoir plus

Newsletter - Banner

Breadcrumb

Asset Publisher

angle-left Dr. Donald Sheppard inducted into the American Society for Clinical Investigation

Dr. Donald Sheppard, a professor in the Departments of Medicine and Microbiology and Immunology at McGill University’s Faculty of Medicine and a scientist at the Research Institute of the McGill University Health Centre, was the only Canadian among 78 physician-scientists inducted into the American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI) in 2018. The induction ceremony and dinner were held on April 20 at the Fairmont Chicago in Chicago, Illinois, as part of the combined annual gathering of the ASCI, the Association of American Physicians and the American Physician Scientists Association.

One of America’s oldest and most respected medical honour societies, the ASCI seeks to support the scientific efforts, educational needs and clinical aspirations of physician-scientists to improve human health. It comprises more than 3,000 physician-scientists from all medical specialties, elected to the society for their outstanding records of scholarly achievement in biomedical research. From the several hundred nominations submitted by its members each year, the ASCI elects up to 80 new members annually for their significant research accomplishments.

“As a clinician-scientist, I am deeply honoured by this recognition of the contributions our research has made to improving the care of patients with invasive fungal infections,” says Dr. Sheppard of this most recent honour. “This achievement would not have been possible without the energy and creativity of the many McGill students and trainees whom I have been privileged to work with over the last 14 years.”

Read more