Rechercher par ordre alphabétique

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Retour

Guilherme Sant'Anna, M.D., Ph. D.

Scientifique, IR-CUSM,

Programme de recherche translationnelle sur les maladies respiratoires

Professeur agrégé, Département de pédiatrie, Division de néonatologie, Faculté de médecine, Université McGill

 

Mots-clés


ventilation selon une technique invasive et non invasive • encéphalopathie hypoxique ischémique • variabilité de la fréquence cardiaque

Aire de recherche


Ma recherche porte sur la compréhension et l'optimisation de l'assistance respiratoire dont quelques enfants prématurés ont besoin après la naissance. En outre, j'approfondis les connaissances sur la pathophysiologie, le traitement et l'issue des nouveau-nés atteints d'asphyxie. Mon programme de recherche en santé respiratoire consiste en le projet EXPERT, soit les enfants très prématurés subissant une thérapie respiratoire. Ce projet de recherche a pour objectif d'examiner les façons d'optimiser la thérapie respiratoire invasive et non invasive et de favoriser par conséquent une transition continue et opportune à l'assistance respiratoire. De concert avec les services de génie biomédical et d'informatique de l'Université McGill, nous travaillons en vue de l'élaboration d'un système automatisé qui puisse prévoir l'opportunité de pratiquer l'extubation chez les enfants très prématurés (Étude APEX). Nous étudions également les mécanismes d'action des thérapies d'assistance non invasives et les répercussions de l'élaboration et de l'établissement des protocoles de soins respiratoires. D'autres projets de recherche comprennent deux partenariats internationaux : une étude prospective sur les nourrissons atteints d'encéphalopathie hypoxique ischémique (Étude PRIME) et une étude sur la maturation neurophysiologique des nourrissons de prématurité modérée et légère (Étude NEMO).

Publications choisies


Cliquez sur Pubmed pour voir la liste de mes publications

  • Prempunpong C, Efanov I, Sant'Anna G. Serum calcium concentrations and incidence of hypocalcemia in infants with moderate or severe hypoxic-ischemic encephalopathy: Effect of therapeutic hypothermia. Early Hum Dev. 2015 Sep;91(9):535-40. doi: 10.1016/j.earlhumdev.2015.06.008. Epub 2015 Jul 12. PMID: 26172341.

  • Nouraeyan N, Lambrinakos-Raymond A, Leone M, Sant'Anna G. Surfactant administration in neonates: A review of delivery methods. Can J Respir Ther. 2014 Fall;50(3):91-5. PMID: 26078618.

  • Al-Mandari H, Shalish W, Dempsey E, Keszler M, Davis PG, Sant'Anna G. International survey on periextubation practices in extremely preterm infants. Arch Dis Child Fetal Neonatal Ed. 2015 Sep;100(5):F428-31. doi: 10.1136/archdischild-2015-308549. Epub 2015 Jun 10. PMID: 26063193.

  • Robles-Rubio CA, Kaczmarek J, Chawla S, Kovacs L, Brown KA, Kearney RE, Sant Anna GM. Automated analysis of respiratory behavior in extremely preterm infants and extubation readiness. Pediatr Pulmonol. 2015 May;50(5):479-86. doi: 10.1002/ppul.23151. Epub 2015 Jan 20. PMID: 25603969.

Search by alphabetical order

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Back

Guilherme Sant'Anna, MD, PhD

Scientist, RI-MUHC, Glen site

Translational Research in Respiratory Diseases Program

Associate Professor, Department of Pediatrics, Division of Neonatology, Faculty of Medicine, McGill University

 

Keywords


neonatal invasive and non-invasive ventilation • hypoxic-ischemic encephalopathy • heart rate variability

Research Focus


My research focuses on understanding and optimizing the respiratory assistance that some preterm infants require after birth, as well as the pathophysiology, management and outcomes of asphyxiated neonates. My respiratory research program is the EXPERT Project, Extremely Preterm Infants on Respiratory Therapy. This project investigates ways to optimize invasive and non-invasive respiratory therapy and therefore promote a continuous and timely transition toward no respiratory support. In collaboration with Biomedical Engineering and Computer Science at McGill University, we are working on the development of an automated system for prediction of extubation readiness in extremely preterm infants (the APEX study). We are also studying the mechanisms of action of non-invasive support therapies, and the impact of the development and implementation of respiratory care protocols. Other projects include two international collaborations: the prospective research of infants with mild hypoxic-ischemic encephalopathy (PRIME study) and the neurophysiological maturation of moderate and late preterm infants (NEMO project).

Selected Publications


Click on Pubmed to see my current publications list

  • Prempunpong C, Efanov I, Sant'Anna G. Serum calcium concentrations and incidence of hypocalcemia in infants with moderate or severe hypoxic-ischemic encephalopathy: Effect of therapeutic hypothermia. Early Hum Dev. 2015 Sep;91(9):535-40. doi: 10.1016/j.earlhumdev.2015.06.008. Epub 2015 Jul 12. PMID: 26172341.

  • Nouraeyan N, Lambrinakos-Raymond A, Leone M, Sant'Anna G. Surfactant administration in neonates: A review of delivery methods. Can J Respir Ther. 2014 Fall;50(3):91-5. PMID: 26078618.

  • Al-Mandari H, Shalish W, Dempsey E, Keszler M, Davis PG, Sant'Anna G. International survey on periextubation practices in extremely preterm infants. Arch Dis Child Fetal Neonatal Ed. 2015 Sep;100(5):F428-31. doi: 10.1136/archdischild-2015-308549. Epub 2015 Jun 10. PMID: 26063193.

  • Robles-Rubio CA, Kaczmarek J, Chawla S, Kovacs L, Brown KA, Kearney RE, Sant Anna GM. Automated analysis of respiratory behavior in extremely preterm infants and extubation readiness. Pediatr Pulmonol. 2015 May;50(5):479-86. doi: 10.1002/ppul.23151. Epub 2015 Jan 20. PMID: 25603969.