Rechercher par ordre alphabétique

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Retour

Patricia Fontela, MD, PhD

Scientifique junior, IR-CUSM,

Programme en santé de l'enfant et en développement humain

Professeure adjointe (de clinique) de pédiatrie, Université McGill

 

Mots-clés


Soins intensifs • épidémiologie • santé de l'enfant • surveillance

Aire de recherche


Ma recherche porte sur l'utilisation des antibiotiques et de la maîtrise des infections dans les unités de soins intensifs pédiatriques (USIP). La majorité des patients des USIP reçoivent des antibiotiques dans le traitement des infections bactériennes soupçonnées, qui n'ont pas été définitivement confirmées par des tests de laboratoire. Étant donné que les recommandations relatives à la durée d'utilisation des antibiotiques ne sont pas claires dans de telles situations, les médecins des USIP ont tendance à prolonger inutilement l'antibiothérapie. Cette surutilisation des antibiotiques est associée à la toxicité et aux infections qui sont causées par des bactéries résistantes aux antibiotiques. Afin de réduire la surutilisation des antibiotiques à l'USIP, je travaille sur l'élaboration d'un outil qui indiquera le moment où il est inoffensif de mettre fin à l'administration des antibiotiques chez les patients de l'USIP. Ceci comprend l'étude de la façon dont les médecins de l'USIP prennent des décisions au sujet de l'antibiothérapie et de la faculté des conclusions cliniques et des tests diagnostiques à prévoir une cure aux infections à l'USIP. Finalement, j'examine les déterminants des infections nosocomiales, habituellement causées par des bactéries résistantes aux antibiotiques, et des stratégies qui peuvent être employées en vue de réduire le taux de ces infections.

Publications choisies


Cliquez sur Pubmed pour voir la liste de mes publications

  • Fontela PS, Rocher I, Platt RW, Pai M, Buckeridge DL, Frenette C, Dionne M, Quach C. Evaluation of the reporting validity of central line-associated bloodstream infection data to a provincial surveillance program. Infect Control Hosp Epidemiol 34(2):217-19, 2013.

  • Fontela PS, Quach C, Buckeridge D, Pai M, Platt RW. Effect of surveillance program participation requirements on the validity of benchmarks for central line-associated bloodstream infections in intensive care units. PLoS ONE 7(5):e36582, 2012.

  • Fontela PS, Platt R, Rocher I, Frenette C, Fortin E, Moore D, Buckeridge D, Pai M, Quach C. Epidemiology of central line-associated bloodstream infections in Quebec intensive care units: a 6-year review. Am J Infect Control 40(3):221-6, 2012. [ Epub 2011 Aug 6.]

  • Fontela PS, Platt RW, Rocher I, Frenette C, Moore D, Fortin E, Buckeridge D, Pai M, Quach C. Surveillance Provinciale des Infections Nosocomiales (SPIN) program: implementation of a mandatory surveillance program for central line-associated bloodstream infections. Am J Infect Control 39(4):329-35, 2011.

Search by alphabetical order

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Back

Patricia Fontela, MD, PhD

Research Institute of the McGill University Health Centre

Regular Member
Health Outcomes


McGill University Health Centre (MUHC)

Medical Scientist
Pediatric intensivist, Pediatric Critical Care, Montreal Children's Hospital


McGill University

Assistant professor (clinical) of Pediatrics, Faculty of Medicine, McGill University


Research Interest


My research focuses on antibiotic use and infection control in pediatric intensive care units (PICUs). The majority of PICU patients receive antibiotics for suspected bacterial infections that were not definitively confirmed by laboratory tests. Because the recommendations about how long to use antibiotics in such situations are not clear, PICU physicians tend to prolong antibiotic treatment unnecessarily. This overuse of antibiotics is associated with toxicity and infections caused by antibiotic-resistant bacteria. To reduce antibiotic overuse in PICUs, I am working on the development of a tool that will indicate when it is safe to stop antibiotics in PICU patients. This involves studying how PICU physicians make decisions about antibiotic use and the ability of clinical findings and diagnostic tests to predict infection cure in PICUs. Finally, I also study the determinants of hospital-acquired infections, usually caused by antibiotic-resistant bacteria, and strategies that can be used to decrease their rates.

Research Foci


  • antimicrobial stewardship

Keywords


Critical care, epidemiology, child health, surveillance

Selected Publications


Click on Pubmed to see my current publications list

  • Fontela PS, Rocher I, Platt RW, Pai M, Buckeridge DL, Frenette C, Dionne M, Quach C. Evaluation of the reporting validity of central line-associated bloodstream infection data to a provincial surveillance program. Infect Control Hosp Epidemiol 34(2):217-19, 2013.

  • Fontela PS, Quach C, Buckeridge D, Pai M, Platt RW. Effect of surveillance program participation requirements on the validity of benchmarks for central line-associated bloodstream infections in intensive care units. PLoS ONE 7(5):e36582, 2012.

  • Fontela PS, Platt R, Rocher I, Frenette C, Fortin E, Moore D, Buckeridge D, Pai M, Quach C. Epidemiology of central line-associated bloodstream infections in Quebec intensive care units: a 6-year review. Am J Infect Control 40(3):221-6, 2012. [ Epub 2011 Aug 6.]

  • Fontela PS, Platt RW, Rocher I, Frenette C, Moore D, Fortin E, Buckeridge D, Pai M, Quach C. Surveillance Provinciale des Infections Nosocomiales (SPIN) program: implementation of a mandatory surveillance program for central line-associated bloodstream infections. Am J Infect Control 39(4):329-35, 2011.