Fil d'Ariane

null Pnina Brodt, Ph. D.

Scientifique senior, IR-CUSM , site Glen

Programme de recherche sur le cancer

Centre de biologie translationnelle

Professeure, Département de chirurgie, Faculté de médecine et des sciences de la santé, Université McGill

Département de chirurgie, Division de chirurgie générale, CUSM

 

Mots-clés


cancer métastatique • microenvironnement d'une tumeur • inflammation • cancer du côlon • cancer du sein

Aire de recherche


Ma recherche porte sur les aspects biologiques et cliniques du cancer métastatique avec une accent sur le processus menant à des métastases hépatiques. Un cancer métastatique des organes vitaux tel que le foie est la cause principale des morts reliées au cancer. Notre objectif est d'identifier des cibles thérapeutiques et de développer de nouveaux agents anti-cancer pour la prévention et le traitement des métastases. Nous voulons comprendre le microenvironnement favorisant la formation de métastases dans le foie. Ce projet vise à élucider le rôle du microenvironnement dans le contrôle de la croissance des cellules cancéreuses disséminées dans le foie. Pour se faire, nous utilisons des modèles murins modifiés génétiquement pour décortiquer la contribution de cellules immunes spécifiques et de facteurs solubles qui favorisent la croissance de cellules cancéreuses dans le foie. Nous voulons également développer un piège IGF (de l'anglais insulin-like growth factor) comme médicament contre le cancer. Nous avons découvert que l'axe IGF joue un rôle critique dans la progression du cancer métastatique et nous avons développé un IGF-TRAP soluble avec de puissantes propriétés antitumorales in-vivo dans différents types de tumeurs. Nous améliorons présentement les protocols de structure et de traitement, dans le but d'optimiser cet agent pour un usage clinique.

Publications choisies


Cliquez sur Pubmed pour voir la liste de mes publications

  • Ciner A.T., Jones, K., Muschel R. and Brodt P. The unique immune microenvironment of liver metastases: Challenges and opportunities. Seminars in Cancer Biology S1044-579X(20)30138-3. doi: 10.1016/j.semcancer.2020.06.003. 2020.

  • Milette S., Hashimoto M., Pérrino S., Qi S., Chen M., Ham B., Wang N., Lowy AM., Piccirillo C., and Brodt P., 2019, Sexual dimorphism and the role of estrogen in the regulation of a pro-metastatic immune microenvironment in the liver. Nature Communications 10 (1), 5745- 61, 2019.

  • Vaniotis G., Rayes, RF., Qi, S., Milette, S., Wang, S., Perrino, S., Nyström, N., He Y., Lamarche-Vane N., and Brodt, P. Collagen IV-conveyed signals regulate chemokine production and promote liver metastasis. Oncogene 37(28):3790-3805, 2018.

  • Wang N, Rayes RF, Elahi SM, Lu Y, Hancock MA, Massie B, Rowe GE, Aomari H, Hossain S, Durocher Y, Pinard M, Tabariès S, Siegel PM, Brodt P. The IGF-Trap: Novel Inhibitor of Carcinoma Growth and Metastasis. Mol Cancer Ther. 2015 Apr;14(4):982-93. doi: 10.1158/1535-7163.MCT-14-0751. Epub 2015 Feb 11. PMID: 25673819.

  • Van den Eynden GG, Majeed AW, Illemann M, Vermeulen PB, Bird NC, Høyer-Hansen G, Eefsen RL, Reynolds AR, Brodt P. The multifaceted role of the microenvironment in liver metastasis: biology and clinical implications. Cancer Res. 2013 Apr 1;73(7):2031-43. doi: 10.1158/0008-5472.CAN-12-3931. Epub 2013 Mar 27. PMID: 23536564.

Asset Publisher

angle-left Pnina Brodt, PhD

Senior Scientist, RI-MUHC, Glen site

Cancer Research Program

Professor, Department of Surgery, Division of Experimental Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, McGill University

 

Keywords


cancer metastasis • tumor microenvironment • inflammation • colon cancer • breast cancer

Research Focus


My research focuses on biological and clinical aspects of cancer metastasis with emphasis on the process of liver metastasis. Cancer metastasis to vital organs such as the liver is the main cause of cancer-related death. Our aim is to identify therapeutic targets and develop novel anti-cancer agents for the prevention or treatment of metastases. We want to understand the pro-metastatic microenvironment of the liver. This project aims to elucidate the role of the microenvironment in controlling the growth of disseminated cancer cells in the liver. To this end, we are using genetically modified mouse models to dissect the contribution of specific immune cells and soluble factors to the promotion of cancer cell growth in the liver. We also want to develop an IGF Trap as an anti-cancer drug. Based on our findings that the IGF axis plays a critical role in the progression of liver metastasis, we have developed a soluble IGF-TRAP with potent tumor-inhibitory properties in vivo, in different tumor types. We are currently improving the structure and treatment protocols, in an effort to optimize this agent for clinical use.

Selected Publications


Click on Pubmed to see my current publications list

  • Wang N, Fallavollita L, Nguyen L, Burnier J, Rafei M, Galipeau J, Yakar S, Brodt P. Autologous bone marrow stromal cells genetically engineered to secrete an igf-I receptor decoy prevent the growth of liver metastases. Mol Ther. 2009 Jul;17(7):1241-9. doi: 10.1038/mt.2009.82. Epub 2009 Apr 14. PMID: 19367255.

  • Burnier JV, Wang N, Michel RP, Hassanain M, Li S, Lu Y, Metrakos P, Antecka E, Burnier MN, Ponton A, Gallinger S, Brodt P. Type IV collagen-initiated signals provide survival and growth cues required for liver metastasis. Oncogene. 2011 Sep 1;30(35):3766-83. doi: 10.1038/onc.2011.89. Epub 2011 Apr 11. PMID: 21478904.

  • Li S, Wang N, Brodt P. Metastatic cells can escape the proapoptotic effects of TNF-α through increased autocrine IL-6/STAT3 signaling. Cancer Res. 2012 Feb 15;72(4):865-75. doi: 10.1158/0008-5472.CAN-11-1357. Epub 2011 Dec 22. PMID: 22194466.

  • Van den Eynden GG, Majeed AW, Illemann M, Vermeulen PB, Bird NC, Høyer-Hansen G, Eefsen RL, Reynolds AR, Brodt P. The multifaceted role of the microenvironment in liver metastasis: biology and clinical implications. Cancer Res. 2013 Apr 1;73(7):2031-43. doi: 10.1158/0008-5472.CAN-12-3931. Epub 2013 Mar 27. PMID: 23536564.

  • Wang N, Rayes RF, Elahi SM, Lu Y, Hancock MA, Massie B, Rowe GE, Aomari H, Hossain S, Durocher Y, Pinard M, Tabariès S, Siegel PM, Brodt P. The IGF-Trap: Novel Inhibitor of Carcinoma Growth and Metastasis. Mol Cancer Ther. 2015 Apr;14(4):982-93. doi: 10.1158/1535-7163.MCT-14-0751. Epub 2015 Feb 11. PMID: 25673819.