Agrégateur de contenus

angle-left Sam Daniel, MD, M.Sc.

Scientifique senior, IR-CUSM, site Glen

Programme en santé de l'enfant et en développement humain

Professeur agrégé, département d'oto-rhino-laryngologie et chirurgie cervico-faciale, Faculté de médecine, Université McGill

 

Mots-clés


Oto-rhino-laryngologiste pédiatrique • maladies de l'oreille interne • perte auditive • ototoxicité • ototoxicité du cisplatine • cisplatine

Aire de recherche


Ma recherche porte sur l'étude de la déficience auditive liée aux maladies de l'oreille moyenne et sur l'ototoxicité, ou l'atteinte de l'oreille par des médicaments, des produits chimiques et le bruit. Nous développons des modèles animaux et informatisés de maladies connues de l'oreille afin de mieux comprendre les processus physiopathologiques en cause et trouver de nouvelles modalités thérapeutiques. Cela comprend des maladies causées par des anomalies de l'oreille moyenne, et des médicaments ototoxiques. La perte auditive est particulièrement importante chez les enfants, étant donné que cette perte affecte le développement du langage et les aptitudes sociales. Au Laboratoire des sciences auditives McGill, mon équipe de recherche élabore des modèles, en vue d'améliorer le diagnostic et le traitement de la perte auditive induite par les agents médicamenteux. Nous étudions les moyens de prévenir l'ototoxicité du cisplatine, la forme de perte auditive subie par les patients atteints de cancer. La perte auditive est causée par des composés toxiques libérés à la suite de l'exposition à l'agent chimiothérapeutique. Ces études amélioreront non seulement la qualité de vie des survivants du cancer, mais elles contribueront également à réduire les restrictions sur certains des agents chimiothérapeutiques les plus puissants, qui sont utilisés dans la lutte contre le cancer. Le fait de maîtriser les effets indésirables associés à l'ototoxicité pourrait permettre l'administration de doses supérieures d'agents chimiothérapeutiques; une approche qui devrait par conséquent améliorer la survie des patients.

Publications choisies


Cliquez sur Pubmed pour voir la liste de mes publications

  • Mujica-Mota MA, Gasbarrino K, Rappaport JM, Shapiro RS, Daniel SJ. The effect of caffeine on hearing in a guinea pig model of acoustic trauma. Am J Otolaryngol. 2013 Dec 7. pii: S0196-0709(13)00280-9. doi: 10.1016/j.amjoto.2013.11.009. [Epub ahead of print]

  • Zawawi F, Kabbach G, Lallemand M, Daniel SJ. Bone-anchored hearing aid: Why do some patients refuse it? Int J Pediatr Otorhinolaryngol. 2013 Nov 18. pii: S0165-5876(13)00591-0. doi: 10.1016/j.ijporl.2013.11.010. [Epub ahead of print]

  • Waissbluth S, Daniel SJ. Cisplatin-induced ototoxicity: transporters playing a role in cisplatin toxicity. Hear Res. 299:37-45, 2013 May. doi: 10.1016/j.heares.2013.02.002. Epub 2013 Mar 1.

  • Waissbluth S, Chan SW, Chen JZ, McIntosh M, Daniel SJ. RNA preservation in decalcified cochlear samples. Otol Neurotol. 34(2):331-7, 2013 Feb. doi: 10.1097/MAO.0b013e318278bf1a.

  • Marchica CL, Pitaro J, Daniel SJ. Recurrent tube insertion for chronic otitis media with effusion in children over 6 years. Int J Pediatr Otorhinolaryngol. 77(2):252-5, 2013 Feb. doi: 10.1016/j.ijporl.2012.11.010. Epub 2012 Dec 13.

Breadcrumb

Asset Publisher

angle-left Sam Daniel, MD, M.Sc.

Senior Scientist, RI-MUHC, Glen site

Child Health and Human Development Program

Associate Professor, Department of Otolaryngology–Head and Neck Surgery, Faculty of Medicine, McGill University

 

Keywords


Pediatric otolaryngology • middle ear disease • hearing loss • otoxicity • platinum otoxicity • cisplatin

Research Focus


My research focuses on hearing loss related to middle ear disease, and on ototoxicity, or damage to the ear by drugs, chemicals and noise. Our laboratory also develops animal and computer models of known ear diseases in order to increase our understanding of the pathophysiological processes involved and suggest new therapeutic modalities. This includes diseases caused by middle ear abnormalities and ototoxic medication. Hearing loss is particularly important in children, as it affects the development of their language and social skills. At the McGill Auditory Sciences Laboratory, my research team develops models to further the diagnosis and treatment of drug-induced hearing loss. We are exploring ways to prevent platinum otoxicity, the form of hearing loss experienced by cancer patients. The loss is caused by toxic compounds released after exposure to the chemotherapeutic agent. This research will not only improve the quality of life for cancer survivors; it will also reduce restrictions on some of the most powerful agents used to fight cancer. Controlling the adverse side effect of ototoxicity may allow higher treatment doses of chemotherapy, and consequently better patient survival.

Selected Publications


Click on Pubmed to see my current publications list

  • Mujica-Mota MA, Gasbarrino K, Rappaport JM, Shapiro RS, Daniel SJ. The effect of caffeine on hearing in a guinea pig model of acoustic trauma. Am J Otolaryngol. 2013 Dec 7. pii: S0196-0709(13)00280-9. doi: 10.1016/j.amjoto.2013.11.009. [Epub ahead of print]

  • Zawawi F, Kabbach G, Lallemand M, Daniel SJ. Bone-anchored hearing aid: Why do some patients refuse it? Int J Pediatr Otorhinolaryngol. 2013 Nov 18. pii: S0165-5876(13)00591-0. doi: 10.1016/j.ijporl.2013.11.010. [Epub ahead of print]

  • Waissbluth S, Daniel SJ. Cisplatin-induced ototoxicity: transporters playing a role in cisplatin toxicity. Hear Res. 299:37-45, 2013 May. doi: 10.1016/j.heares.2013.02.002. Epub 2013 Mar 1.

  • Waissbluth S, Chan SW, Chen JZ, McIntosh M, Daniel SJ. RNA preservation in decalcified cochlear samples. Otol Neurotol. 34(2):331-7, 2013 Feb. doi: 10.1097/MAO.0b013e318278bf1a.

  • Marchica CL, Pitaro J, Daniel SJ. Recurrent tube insertion for chronic otitis media with effusion in children over 6 years. Int J Pediatr Otorhinolaryngol. 77(2):252-5, 2013 Feb. doi: 10.1016/j.ijporl.2012.11.010. Epub 2012 Dec 13.