Rechercher par ordre alphabétique

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Retour

Stéphanie Chevalier, Ph. D.

Scientifique, IR-CUSM,

Programme de recherche en désordres métaboliques et leurs complications

Professeure adjointe, Département de médecine, Division de médecine gériatrique, Faculté de médecine, Université McGill

 

Mots-clés


nutrition • métabolisme • résistance à l'insuline • isotopes stables • recherche translationnelle et clinique

Aire de recherche


Ma recherche porte sur les altérations du métabolisme des protéines qui mènent à une perte musculaire. Ceci se produit sous certaines conditions lorsque les cellules musculaires résistent à l'effet anabolisant de l'insuline, comme dans les cas d'obésité et de diabète de type 2, mais également dans les cas de vieillissement et de cancer. La perte musculaire a des conséquences débilitantes puisqu'elle réduit la fonction physique, la mobilité, l'autonomie et la tolérance au traitement contre le cancer. Mes travaux impliquent l'utilisation d'une méthodologie de traceurs isotopes stables et la spectrométrie de masse avec modélisation mathématique pour quantifier les flux métaboliques chez les sujets sains et les patients malades. Cette approche nous permet de mesurer les taux auxquels les protéines sont synthétisées ou dégradées et la quantité de glucose produite ou utilisée, dans des conditions déterminées. Mon principal objectif de recherche est de mieux comprendre le rôle de l'alimentation, et plus particulièrement des protéines diététiques et de leurs composants, les acides aminés, dans la neutralisation de la perte musculaire tout en optimisant les statuts nutritionnel et métabolique.

Publications choisies


Cliquez sur Pubmed pour voir la liste de mes publications

  • Chevalier S, Burgos SA, Morais JA, Gougeon R, Bassil M, Lamarche M, Marliss EB. Protein and glucose metabolic responses to hyperinsulinemia, hyperglycemia, and hyperaminoacidemia in obese men.Obesity 23 (2); 351-8, 2015. PMID: 25452199.

  • Chevalier S, Winter A. Do patients with advanced cancer have any potential for protein anabolism in response to amino acid therapy? Curr Opin Clin Nutr Metab Care. 17(3):213-8, 2014. PMID: 24572834.

  • Winter A, MacAdams J, Chevalier S. Normal protein anabolic response to hyperaminoacidemia in insulin-resistant patients with lung cancer cachexia. Clin Nutr 31: 765-773, 2012. PMID: 22647419.

  • Bassil M, Burgos SA, Marliss EB, Morais JA, Chevalier S and Gougeon R. Hyperaminoacidemia at postprandial levels does not modulate glucose metabolism in type 2 diabetes mellitus. Diabetologia 54(7): 1810-8, 2011. PMID: 21437771.

  • Chevalier S, Goulet E, Burgos SA, Wykes LJ, Morais JA. Protein anabolic responses to fed steady-state in healthy aging. J Gerontol Biol Med Sci 66 (6); 681-8, 2011. PMID: 21436253.

Search by alphabetical order

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Back

Stéphanie Chevalier, PhD

Scientist, RI-MUHC, Glen site

Metabolic Disorders and Complications Program

Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine, Division of Geriatric Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, McGill University

 

Keywords


nutrition • metabolism • insulin resistance • stable isotopes • clinical and translational research

Research Focus


My research focuses on the alterations in protein metabolism that lead to muscle loss. This occurs under certain conditions when muscle cells are resistant to the anabolic effect of insulin, such as in obesity and type 2 diabetes, and also in aging and cancer. Muscle loss has debilitating consequences, as it reduces physical function, mobility, autonomy, and tolerance to cancer treatment. My work involves the use of stable isotope tracer methodology and mass spectrometry with mathematical modeling to quantify metabolic fluxes in healthy subjects and ill patients. This approach allows us to measure the rates at which proteins are being synthesized or degraded and how much glucose is being produced or utilized, under determined conditions. My main research objective is to better understand the role of diet, and particularly dietary proteins and their constituents, amino acids, in counteracting muscle loss while optimizing nutritional and metabolic status.

Selected Publications


Click on Pubmed to see my current publications list

  • Chevalier S, Burgos SA, Morais JA, Gougeon R, Bassil M, Lamarche M, Marliss EB. Protein and glucose metabolic responses to hyperinsulinemia, hyperglycemia, and hyperaminoacidemia in obese men.Obesity 23 (2); 351-8, 2015. PMID: 25452199.

  • Chevalier S, Winter A. Do patients with advanced cancer have any potential for protein anabolism in response to amino acid therapy? Curr Opin Clin Nutr Metab Care. 17(3):213-8, 2014. PMID: 24572834.

  • Winter A, MacAdams J, Chevalier S. Normal protein anabolic response to hyperaminoacidemia in insulin-resistant patients with lung cancer cachexia. Clin Nutr 31: 765-773, 2012. PMID: 22647419.

  • Bassil M, Burgos SA, Marliss EB, Morais JA, Chevalier S and Gougeon R. Hyperaminoacidemia at postprandial levels does not modulate glucose metabolism in type 2 diabetes mellitus. Diabetologia 54(7): 1810-8, 2011. PMID: 21437771.

  • Chevalier S, Goulet E, Burgos SA, Wykes LJ, Morais JA. Protein anabolic responses to fed steady-state in healthy aging. J Gerontol Biol Med Sci 66 (6); 681-8, 2011. PMID: 21436253.