Newsletter - Banner


Asset Publisher

Congratulations to each of the following RI-MUHC investigators:

Michal Abrahamowicz, selected as one of the best 2017 Reviewers of the Year by the American Journal of Epidemiology and the Society for Epidemiologic Research.

John Bergeron, Professor emeritus, inducted as Chevalier de l'Ordre national du Québec, the highest distinction awarded by the province.

Jean Bourbeau, awarded the 2018 Department of Medicine Staff Research Award by the McGill University Health Centre.

Charles Bourque, awarded the Distinguished James McGill Professorship by McGill University.

Marcelo Cantarovich, elected President-elect (2018-2020) of The Transplantation Society.

Sherif Emil, recipient of the Faculty of Medicine 2018 Haile T. Debas Prize from McGill University.

Madhukar Pai, honoured as one of the 75 most influential alumni of the School of Public Health at University of California, Berkeley (UCB), during UCB's 75th anniversary celebrations.

Nitika Pant Pai, invited to present her app, HIVSmart!, at a high-level UNAID/IAPAC/PEPFAR Summit in Geneva in May 2018.

David Rosenblatt, recipient of the 2018 Founders’ Award for Career Achievement by the Canadian College of Medical Geneticists.

Erwin Schurr, awarded the Distinguished James McGill Professorship by McGill University.

Ernest Seidman, honoured by an international symposium held at the RI-MUHC.

Donald Sheppard, the only Canadian among 78 physician-scientists inducted into the American Society for Clinical Investigation in 2018.

Donald Vinh, recipient of the 2018 Outreach Award from the McGill University Health Centre.

Donald Vinh, recipient of the 2018 Department of Medicine Early Career Staff Research Award from the McGill University Health Centre.

Jeff Wiseman, who, with the LEADS Partnership, was awarded the 2017 Outstanding International Research Collaboration Award sponsored by the American Education Research Association Technology, Cognition and Learning Special Interest Group.

—published September 18, 2018

Congratulations to each of the following RI-MUHC investigators:

Dr. Nancy Braverman, whose lab team won the 4th annual Lumira-AmorChem KNOCK OUT Event in Quebec City on December 6, 2017, and qualified for $500K financing from AmorChem.

Dr. Stella Daskalopoulou, laureate of the 2017 John J. Day Award of Excellence from the Heart & Stroke Foundation, Quebec.

Dr. Alan Evans, awarded a Senate of Canada 150 medal for his commitment to advancement in Alzheimer's disease and palliative care research.*

Dr. Nada Jabado, who was appointed to the Canadian Institutes of Health Research Governing Council in December 2017.

Dr. Emily McDonald, who received the 2017 New Investigator Award from the Canadian Society of Internal Medicine for her work on over-diagnosis and over-treatment of venous thromboembolic disease. 

Dr. Madhukar Pai and his team, awarded support from Grand Challenges Canada for pioneering work to improve the diagnosis of TB in children under the age of 15. Grand Challenges Canada named the team as one of the top 20 Canadian ideas to improve maternal and child health.

Dr. Nitika Pant Pai, one of six Change Makers selected by The Economist for a Q&A. 

Dr. Louise Pilote, recipient of the Excellence Award for Sex and Gender Aspects from the Berlin Institute of Health for her innovative work in gender-related cardiovascular health.

Dr. Kevin Petrecca, with colleague Frédéric Leblond from the Polytechnique Montréal, who won the 2017 Québec Science Discovery of the Year Public Prize for their cancer-detection probe.*

Dr. Donald Sheppard and his student Brendan Snarr, whose novel enzyme technology that prevents the formation of biofilms was judged one of the 10 best discoveries of 2017 by Québec Science magazine. 

Dr. Donald Sheppard, elected a fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology based on his record of scientific achievement and original contributions that have advanced microbiology.

Dr. Évelyne Vinet, who received the Young Investigator Award from the Canadian Rheumatology Association, the highest honour for young Canadian investigators in rheumatology.


*Researcher at the Montreal Neurological Institute associated with the Brain Repair and Integrative Neuroscience (BRaIN) Program at the RI-MUHC.

—published April 9, 2018

See Archive - Honours and Awards