Newsletter - Banner

Breadcrumb

Asset Publisher

angle-left Centre for Outcomes Research and Evaluation (CORE) - CHILD/ADULT Seminar (October 24, 2018)

Respiratory viral infections in children: the long and the short of it

First presenter: Jesse Papenburg, MD, FRCPC
Assistant Professor, Department of Pediatrics, Division of Infectious Diseases, Faculty of Medicine, McGill University

Dr. Papenburg practices Pediatric Infectious Diseases and Medical Microbiology at the Montreal Children’s Hospital. His research program is supported by the Fonds de recherche Québec santé and studies the epidemiology, surveillance and diagnosis of severe viral respiratory infections in children. 

Dr. Papenburg will be speaking about management and prevention of acute viral respiratory infections in children using provincial and local data to inform clinical practice and health policies. 


Elimination of HIV and HCV in Vulnerable Populations

Second presenter: Marina Klein, MD, M.Sc., FRCPC
Professor, Department of Medicine, Division of Infectious Diseases 
Faculty of Medicine, McGill University

New, highly effective therapies that directly target HCV (DAAs) will completely alter the landscape for HCV infected patients. But we are faced with a fundamental paradox. DAAs are the most expensive anti-infectives ever to be developed and HCV disproportionately affects the poorest and most disenfranchised populations in Canada and globally.

Over the last 15 years, I have built a national clinical research network funded by a CIHR Foundation grant, the Canadian Coinfection Cohort (www.cocostudy.ca) which has followed over 1800 HIV-HCV coinfected participants. Our high quality observational data, methods and linked biobank has supported a broad range of Canadian and international research efforts and trained many young investigators. The introduction of DAAs into this well characterized prospective cohort provides a unique opportunity to evaluate their full impact on coinfected Canadians and inform the wider response to the HCV epidemic by demonstrating how to increase access to and optimally use these new therapies.

This presentation will discuss how a collaborative research agenda, inclusive of communities affected, can serve as a model for evaluating health interventions in vulnerable populations. I will illustrate how research results can be used to engage policy makers to bring about equitable access to HCV treatment, maximize successful outcomes and reduce health and economic burdens in vulnerable and marginalized populations.

When: Wednesday, October 24, 2018 at noon

Where: 5252 boul de Maisonneuve West, 3rd Floor (3B kitchen)

Information: CORE  514-934-1934 ext. 48292 or Core.mailer@rimuhc.ca

The presentation will be delivered in English.

Newsletter - Banner

Fil d'ariane

Agrégateur de contenus

angle-left Centre de recherche évaluative en santé (CRES) : SéminaireENFANT / ADULTE (le 24 octobre 2018)

Infections virales respiratoires chez les enfants: en résumé

Premier Conférencier : Jesse Papenburg, M.D., FRCPC
Professeur adjoint, Département de pédiatrie, Division des maladies infectieuses, Faculté de médecine, Université McGill

Le Dr. Papenburgpratique la microbiologie médicale et les maladies pédiatriques infectieuses à l’hôpital de Montréal pour enfants. Son programme de recherche est soutenu par le Fonds de recherche Québec santé et étudie l’épidémiologue, la surveillance et le diagnostic d’infections virales respiratoires sévères chez les enfants.

Le Dr. Papenburgdiscutera de la gestion et de la prévention des infections virales respiratoires sévères chez les enfants par l’utilisation d’informations provinciales et locales afin d’informer la pratique clinique et les politiques de santé.


Élimination du VIH et du VHC chez les populations vulnérables

Deuxième Conférencière : Marina Klein, M.D., M.Sc., FRCPC
Professeur, Département de médecine, Division des maladies infectieuses, Faculté de médecine, Université McGill

De nouvelles thérapies hautement efficaces, qui ciblent directement le VHC (AAD), modifieront complètement l’environnement des patients infectés par le VHC. Nous sommes cependant confrontés à un paradoxe fondamental. Les AAD sont les anti-infectieux les plus coûteux jamais développés; et le VHC affecte de manière disproportionnée les populations les plus pauvres et les plus marginales du Canada et de l’ensemble de la planète.

Au cours des 15 dernières années, j'ai bâti un réseau national de recherche clinique financé par une subvention Fondation des IRSC, la Cohorte canadienne de co-infections (www.cocostudy.ca/fr/), qui a suivi plus de 1800 participants co-infectés par le VIH et le VHC. Nos données d'observation de grande qualité, nos méthodes et notre biobanque associée ont soutenu un large éventail d'efforts de recherche canadiens et internationaux et ont formé de nombreux jeunes chercheurs. L'introduction des AAD dans cette cohorte prospective bien définie offre une occasion unique d'évaluer l’ensemble de leur impact sur les Canadiens co-infectés et d'informer de façon plus large à propos de l’épidémie de VHC, en démontrant comment améliorer l'accès à ces nouvelles thérapieset commentles utiliser de manière optimale.

Cette présentation abordera la manière dont un programme de recherche collaborative, inclusif envers les communautés affectées, peut servir de modèle afind’évaluer les interventions de santé auprès de populations vulnérables. J’illustrerai comment les résultats de la recherche peuvent être utilisés pour inciter les décideurs à tendre vers un accès équitable au traitement du VHC, à maximiser les résultats positifs et à réduire les fardeauxde santé et économiques pesant sur les populations vulnérables et marginalisées.

Quand : Mercredi 24 octobre 2018 à midi

Où: 5252 boul de Maisonneuve Ouest, 3e étage (cuisine 3B)

Information: CRES 514-934-1934 poste 48292 ou Core.mailer@rimuhc.ca

La présentation se déroulera en anglais.