Newsletter - Banner

Breadcrumb

Asset Publisher

angle-left Dr. David Rosenblatt to receive Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. David Rosenblatt, Holder, Dodd Q. Chu and Family Chair in Medical Genetics and Professor, Departments of Human Genetics, Medicine, Pediatrics, and Biology at McGill University, has been selected as the 2018 recipient of the Canadian College of Medical Geneticists (CCMG) Founders’ Award for Career Achievement.

The award is meant to recognize a CCMG member who has had an outstanding career in medical genetics in Canada or abroad. This award is named in honour of the visionary men and women (known as the “Committee of Seven”) who, along with 17 founding members, established the Canadian College of Medical Geneticists on January 13, 1976. Previously known as the Founders’ Award, it was officially renamed in 2017. In announcing his selection for the award, the CCMG noted Dr. Rosenblatt’s outstanding career across all domains of service, research, teaching, administration, and scholarly activity and highlighted that within the CCMG his presence has been steadfast and ongoing, from its earliest days until now and he remains an enthusiastic advocate for the profession of medical genetics, not only within Quebec but across the Canadian scientific community.

“In being selected as the 2018 recipient of the Canadian College of Medical Geneticist Founders’ Award for Career Achievement, I am walking in the footsteps of McGill legends in Canadian Medical Genetics, Dr. F. Clarke Fraser who received the first award in 1991 and Dr. Charles R. Scriver, who received the award in 2003,” said Dr. Rosenblatt who is also a geneticist and a senior scientist in the Child Health and Human Development Program at the Research Institute of the McGill University Health Centre (RI-MUHC) and the Director of The Hess B. and Diane Finestone Laboratory located at the RI-MUHC, Glen site. “It is a great honour for me to be counted among McGill colleagues of such high esteem.”
Learn more

Newsletter - Banner

Fil d'ariane

Agrégateur de contenus

angle-left Le Dr David Rosenblatt honoré pour l’ensemble de sa carrière

Le Dr David Rosenblatt, titulaire de la Chaire de génétique médicale Dodd Q. Chu et famille et professeur aux départements de génétique humaine, de médecine, de pédiatrie et de biologie de l’Université McGill, a été nommé lauréat 2018 du Prix des fondateurs pour une carrière exemplaire du Collège canadien des généticiens médicaux (CCGM).

Le prix vise à saluer un membre du CCGM qui a connu une carrière remarquable en génétique médicale au Canada ou à l’étranger. Il a été nommé en l’honneur du comité de sept visionnaires qui a établi le CCGM le 13 janvier 1976, avec 17 membres fondateurs. D’abord connu sous le nom de Prix des fondateurs, il a officiellement été renommé en 2017. Dans son annonce du lauréat 2018, le CCGM décrit la carrière exceptionnelle du Dr Rosenblatt dans tous les secteurs du service, de la recherche, de l’enseignement, de l’administration et des travaux d’érudition, en plus de souligner sa présence indéfectible au sein du CCGM dès les tout débuts, ainsi que son enthousiasme comme ambassadeur de la profession au Québec et dans toute la communauté scientifique canadienne.

« En étant sélectionné comme lauréat 2018 du Prix des fondateurs pour une carrière exemplaire du Collège canadien des généticiens médicaux, je marche dans les traces des légendes mcgilloises et canadiennes de la génétique médicale, le Dr F. Clarke Fraser, premier lauréat du prix, en 1991, et le Dr Charles R. Scriver, qui l’a reçu en 2003 », dit le Dr Rosenblatt, également généticien et scientifique chevronné dans le Programme en santé de l'enfant et en développement humain à l’Institut de recherche du Centre universitaire de santé McGill (IR-CUSM) et directeur du Hess B. and Diane Finestone Laboratory situé à l’IR-CUSM au site Glen. « C’est un grand honneur pour moi d’être compté parmi des collègues mcgillois de si grande envergure. »
En savoir plus