

40 Years of Academic Medical Physics at McGill

Celebrated in Conjunction with the International Day of Medical Physics

November 7, 2019 Auditorium ES1.1129 and Atrium Research Institute McGill University Health Centre



Program

Symposium program (1:30 pm – 2:50 pm) Chair: Ives Levesque, McGill University

- 1:30 pm Gino Fallone, University of Alberta *Towards the Linac MR*1:50 pm Michael Evans, McGill University Health Centre *Expanding professional opportunities for medical physicists in clinical service and regulatory bodies*2:10 pm Corey Zankowski, Varian Medical Systems *Career path of a medical physicist in leading industry*2:30 pm Magdalena Bazalova-Carter, University of Victoria *From timid Eastern European graduate student to Canada Research Chair*2:50 pm Susannah Hickling, Mayo Clinic
 - Medical physics resident perspective: combining clinical service and research

Panel discussion (3:10 pm – 3:30 pm) (Panel topic: To be confirmed) Chair: Bruce Pike, University of Calgary

Wamied Abdel-Rahman (King Fahad Specialist Hospital), Shirin Enger (McGill), Francois DeBlois (CHUM), Tony Falco (Elekta), Claire Cohalan (CHUM)

Coffee Break (3:30 pm – 4:00 pm)

Ceremonial program (4:00 pm – 5:05 pm) MC: Jan Seuntjens, McGill University

- 4:00 pm David Eidelman (Dean, Faculty of Medicine, McGill University)
- 4:05 pm Ewa Sidorowicz (Director of Professional Services, McGill University Health Centre)
- 4:10 pm Eduardo Franco (Chair, Gerald Bronfman Dept. of Oncology, McGill University)
- 4:15 pm Ervin Podgorsak (Emeritus Professor, McGill University)
- 4:30 pm André Diamant (Ph.D. graduate student, McGill University)
- 4:45 pm Jan Seuntjens (Professor, McGill University)
- 5:00 pm Presentation of the 2019 2020 Podgorsak Fellowship Recipient

Reception in Atrium RI-MUHC (5:05 pm - 8:00 pm)

(amendments may be posted)