Fil d'ariane

Researcher List - Sidebar Search Title

PROFILS DES CHERCHEURS

Recherche rapide

ri-custom-search Portlet

Agrégateur de contenus

angle-left Charles Bourque, Ph. D., FCAHS, FRSC

Scientifique senior, IR-CUSM , Hôpital général de Montréal

Programme en réparation du cerveau et en neurosciences intégratives

Centre de biologie translationnelle

Professeur, Département de neurologie et de neurochirurgie, Faculté de médecine, Université McGill

 

Mots-clés


osmoregulation • thermosensitivity • osmosensitivity • hypertension • ciradian rhythms

Aire de recherche


Ma recherche porte sur la façon dont le cerveau contrôle et régularise l'hydration du corps (teneur en eau), le taux de sodium dans le sang et la température centrale. Des anomalies dans le contrôle de ces paramètres sont au coeur des préoccupations de la santé publique et des problèmes en médecine de soins intensifs. Par exemple, les changements dans l'homéostasie des liquides centraux sont responsables de l'hypertension sodium-dépendante, de l'enflure du cerveau à la suite d'une blessure à la tête et d'une défaillance cardiovasculaire durant un choc septique. Je me concentre en partie sur la façon dont les protéines, nommées canaux ioniques, limitent les effets des changements du sodium dans le sang et de la température corporelle sur l'activité électrique des neurones dans les régions du cerveau qui contrôlent la soif, la pression sanguine et la sécrétion de la vasopressine (hormone antidiurétique) et de l'oxytocine (une hormone jouant plusieurs rôles dans la reproduction et dans les comportements sociaux). Dans le cadre de mon travail, j'étudie également comment des changements dans ces mécanismes contribuent aux symptômes de la maladie causés par une consommation riche en sodium, un traumatisme crânien ou une septicémie péritonéale. Les nouvelles connaissances que nous avons acquises élargissent notre compréhension de l'homéostasie des liquides corporels, contribuent aux discussions de santé publique à propros de la consommation de sodium et mèneront à de nouvelles méthodes d'intervention en médecine préventive et thérapeutique.

Publications choisies


Cliquez sur Pubmed pour voir la liste de mes publications

  • Gizowski C and Bourque CW (2020) Sodium regulates clock time and output via an excitatory GABAergic pathway. Nature 583, 421-424. PMID: 32641825.

  • Ciura S, Prager-Khoutorsky M, Thirouin ZS, Wyrosdic JC, Olson JE, Liedtke W, Bourque CW (2018) Trpv4 Mediates Hypotonic Inhibition of Central Osmosensory Neurons via Taurine Gliotransmission. Cell Reports 23, 2245-2253. PMID: 29791836.

  • Gizowski C and Bourque CW. (2018) The neural basis of homeostatic and anticipatory thirst. Nature Reviews Nephrology 14, 11-25. PMID: 29129925.

  • Gizowski C, Zaelzer C, Bourque CW (2016) Clock-driven vasopressin neurotransmission mediates anticipatory thirst prior to sleep. Nature 537, 685-688. PMID: 27680940.

  • Choe KY, Han SY, Gaub P, Shell B, Voisin DL, Knapp BA, Barker PA, Brown CH, Cunningham JT and Bourque CW (2015) High Salt Intake Increases Blood Pressure via BDNF-Mediated Downregulation of KCC2 and Impaired Baroreflex Inhibition of Vasopressin Neurons. Neuron 85, 549-560. PMID: 25619659.

Breadcrumb

Researcher List - Sidebar Search Title

RESEARCHER PROFILES

Quick Search

ri-custom-search Portlet

Asset Publisher

angle-left Charles Bourque, PhD, FCAHS, FRSC

Senior Scientist, RI-MUHC , Montreal General Hospital

Brain Repair and Integrative Neuroscience (BRaIN) Program

Centre for Translational Biology

Professor, Department of Neurology and Neurosurgery, Faculty of Medicine, McGill University

 

Keywords


osmoregulation • thermosensitivity • osmosensitivity • hypertension • ciradian rhythms

Research Focus


My research focuses on how the brain monitors and regulates body hydration (water content), blood sodium levels, and core temperature. Defects in the control of these parameters lie at the heart of public health concerns, and issues in critical-care medicine. For example, changes in centrally-mediated fluid homeostasis are responsible for salt-dependent hypertension, for brain swelling after head injury, and for cardiovascular impairment during septic shock. Part of my work investigates how proteins, termed ion channels, mediate the effects of changes in blood sodium and body temperature on the electrical activity of neurons in brain regions that control thirst, blood pressure, and secretion of vasopressin (antidiuretic hormone) and oxytocin (a hormone that plays many roles in reproduction and social behaviors). My work also examines how changes in these mechanisms contribute to disease symptoms caused by high salt intake, head trauma, or peritoneal sepsis. The new knowledge created by my group expands our understanding of body fluid homeostasis; contributes to public health discussions regarding dietary salt intake; and will lead to novel means of intervention in preventive and therapeutic medicine.

Selected Publications


Click on Pubmed to see my current publications list

  • Gizowski C and Bourque CW (2020) Sodium regulates clock time and output via an excitatory GABAergic pathway. Nature 583, 421-424. PMID: 32641825.

  • Ciura S, Prager-Khoutorsky M, Thirouin ZS, Wyrosdic JC, Olson JE, Liedtke W, Bourque CW (2018) Trpv4 Mediates Hypotonic Inhibition of Central Osmosensory Neurons via Taurine Gliotransmission. Cell Reports 23, 2245-2253. PMID: 29791836.

  • Gizowski C and Bourque CW. (2018) The neural basis of homeostatic and anticipatory thirst. Nature Reviews Nephrology 14, 11-25. PMID: 29129925.

  • Gizowski C, Zaelzer C, Bourque CW (2016) Clock-driven vasopressin neurotransmission mediates anticipatory thirst prior to sleep. Nature 537, 685-688. PMID: 27680940.

  • Choe KY, Han SY, Gaub P, Shell B, Voisin DL, Knapp BA, Barker PA, Brown CH, Cunningham JT and Bourque CW (2015) High Salt Intake Increases Blood Pressure via BDNF-Mediated Downregulation of KCC2 and Impaired Baroreflex Inhibition of Vasopressin Neurons. Neuron 85, 549-560. PMID: 25619659.