Fil d'Ariane

null Dan Poenaru, M.D., Ph. D., MPHE

Chercheur, IR-CUSM , site Glen

Programme en santé de l'enfant et en développement humain

Centre de médecine innovatrice

Professeur, Département de chirurgie pédiatrique, Faculté de médecine et des sciences de la santé, Université McGill

Département de chirurgie pédiatrique, Division de chirurgie générale, CUSM

 

Mots-clés


patient-centred care • shared decision-making • risk communication • pediatric surgery • patient-reported outcomes • team communication • surgical simulation • medical education • augmented intelligence • global surgery

Aire de recherche


Au point de jonction entre familles et prestataires de soins chirurgicaux, nous évaluons le processus de communication du risque mis en œuvre chaque fois qu’une décision chirurgicale importante doit être prise. Nous explorons cet espace en déterminant, grâce à des études reposant sur des méthodes mixtes, les résultats et les expériences valorisés par les patients dans la foulée de procédures chirurgicales chez des enfants, ainsi que les préférences des familles en matière de communication. Nous analysons en outre le processus de consentement en chirurgie pédiatrique en recourant à des évaluations multipartites des activités de consentement consignées. Tout au long de ces études, notre objectif consiste à élaborer des outils de communication pour améliorer les interactions entre les patients, les familles et l’équipe de soins chirurgicaux, et à enseigner aux étudiants en médecine et aux chirurgiens en formation de faire de même.

Au point de jonction entre les divers membres de l’équipe de soins chirurgicaux, nous analysons les processus de communication au sein des équipes interprofessionnelles de traumatologie en action. Nous explorons les circuits de communication actuels et théoriques, l’objectif étant de traduire les constatations en modules formels traitant des communications pouvant être intégrés aux cours sur la traumatologie.

Enfin, au point de jonction entre communications et technologies, et ce, à travers les domaines majeurs de communication précités, nous nous efforçons de faire des innovations technologiques en recourant à des applications nouvelles en intelligence artificielle et en réalité virtuelle. Cela inclut des algorithmes d’apprentissage machine visant à rehausser l’exactitude des communications sur le risque, ainsi que la réalité virtuelle et augmentée dans le but de créer des simulations immersives à faible coût livrables à distance pour les communications de l’équipe de traumatologie.

Publications choisies


Cliquez sur Pubmed pour voir la liste de mes publications

  • Poenaru D, Pemberton J, Frankfurter C, Cameron BH, Stolk E. Establishing disability weights for congenital paediatric surgical conditions: a prospective, cross-sectional, multi-modal approach. Pop Health Metrics 15:1-11, 2017.

  • Saxton AT, Poenaru D, Ozgediz D, Ameh Emmanuel A, Farmer D, Rice HE. Economic analysis of children’s surgical care in low- and middle-income countries: A systematic review. PLOS ONE 11:e01654480, 2016.

  • Yousef Y, Lee A, Ayele F, Poenaru D. Delayed access to care and unmet burden of pediatric surgical disease in resource-constrained African countries. Journal of Pediatric Surgery. 2018 Jun 27.

  • Poenaru D, Pemberton J, Cameron BH. The Burden of Waiting: DALYs accrued from delayed access to pediatric surgery in Kenya and Canada. J Pediatr Surg 50:765-70, 2015.

  • Poenaru D, Pemberton J, Frankfurter C, Cameron BH. Quantifying the Disability Averted through Pediatric Surgery: a cross-sectional comparison of a pediatric surgical unit in Kenya and Canada. World J Surg 39:2198-2206, 2015.

Breadcrumb

null Dan Poenaru, MD, PhD, MPHE

Investigator, RI-MUHC , Glen site

Child Health and Human Development Program

Centre for Innovative Medicine

Professor, Department of Pediatric Surgery, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, McGill University

Department of Pediatric Surgery, Division of General Surgery, MUHC

 

Keywords


patient-centred care • shared decision-making • risk communication • pediatric surgery • patient-reported outcomes • team communication • surgical simulation • medical education • augmented intelligence • global surgery

Research Focus


At the commissure between families and surgical providers we are exploring the risk communication process taking place whenever a key surgical decision needs to be made. We explore this space by identifying, through mixed-method studies, patient-valued outcomes and experiences following surgical procedures in children, as well as the communication preferences of families. We are also interrogating the consenting process in pediatric surgery using multi-stakeholder evaluations of recorded consent activities. Our goal throughout these studies is to develop communication tools to improve the interactions between patients, families, and the surgical care team, and to instruct medical students and surgical trainees to do the same.

At the commissure between various surgical team members, we explore the communication processes within interprofessional trauma teams in action. We explore actual and theoretical team communication patterns, aiming to distill the findings into formal communication modules to be incorporated into trauma courses.

And at the commissure between communication and technology, across both major communication domains above, we endeavour to innovate technologically through novel applications of artificial intelligence and virtual reality. This includes machine learning algorithms for rendering risk communication more precise and virtual and augmented reality for creating low-cost, remotely deliverable immersive simulations for trauma team communication.

Selected Publications


Click on Pubmed to see my current publications list

  • Poenaru D, Pemberton J, Frankfurter C, Cameron BH, Stolk E. Establishing disability weights for congenital paediatric surgical conditions: a prospective, cross-sectional, multi-modal approach. Pop Health Metrics 15:1-11, 2017.

  • Saxton AT, Poenaru D, Ozgediz D, Ameh Emmanuel A, Farmer D, Rice HE. Economic analysis of children’s surgical care in low- and middle-income countries: A systematic review. PLOS ONE 11:e01654480, 2016.

  • Yousef Y, Lee A, Ayele F, Poenaru D. Delayed access to care and unmet burden of pediatric surgical disease in resource-constrained African countries. Journal of Pediatric Surgery. 2018 Jun 27.

  • Poenaru D, Pemberton J, Cameron BH. The Burden of Waiting: DALYs accrued from delayed access to pediatric surgery in Kenya and Canada. J Pediatr Surg 50:765-70, 2015.

  • Poenaru D, Pemberton J, Frankfurter C, Cameron BH. Quantifying the Disability Averted through Pediatric Surgery: a cross-sectional comparison of a pediatric surgical unit in Kenya and Canada. World J Surg 39:2198-2206, 2015.