Fil d'ariane

Researcher List - Sidebar Search Title

PROFILS DES CHERCHEURS

Recherche rapide

ri-custom-search Portlet

Agrégateur de contenus

angle-left Michal Abrahamowicz, Ph. D.

Scientifique senior, IR-CUSM , 5252 de Maisonneuve

Programme de recherche en santé cardiovasculaire au long de la vie

Centre de recherche évaluative en santé

Professeur, Département d'épidémiologie, de biostatistique et de santé au travail, Faculté de médecine, Université McGill

 

Mots-clés


études de cohorte • efficacité comparative • confusion • variables instrumentales • régression non paramétrique • pharmacoépidémiologie • courbes splinées • modélisation statistique

Aire de recherche


Mes travaux de recherche se concentrent sur le développement de nouvelles méthodes flexibles pour l'analyse de données cliniques et biomédicales, plus particulièrement l'analyse de survie, et sur leurs applications dans les études d'innocuité et d'efficacité des médicaments et des traitements, sur le cancer et sur l'épidémiologie cardiovasculaire.

Mes activités de recherche combinent l'élaboration de nouveaux modèles statistiques pour l'analyse de la survie et des analyses longitudinales basées sur la population de la santé humaine et la recherche collaborative au cours de laquelle ces nouvelles méthodes sont appliquées dans le cadre d'études cliniques et épidémiologiques en situation réelle. Les principaux objectifs de ma recherche fondamentale en méthodologie statistique sont la modélisation des effets variables dans le temps et cumulatifs des traitements et facteurs de risque et pronostiques, et la correction des différents préjugés inhérents aux études d'observation (non randomisées). Je suis cofondateur et, depuis 2013, coprésident de l'initiative internationale STRATOS visant à améliorer les analyses des études observationnelles (www.stratos-initiative.org), impliquant plus de 100 experts dans différents domaines statistiques de 18 pays. Ma recherche collaborative comprend de vastes études cliniques et des études longitudinales basées sur la population portant sur l'arthrite, les maladies cardiovasculaires et le cancer, ainsi que la pharmacoépidémiologie. J'ai créé et été nommé chercheur principal (2011-2019) du réseau CAN-AIM pour des études prospectives sur l'innocuité et l'efficacité des médicaments. Financé par le Réseau sur l'innocuité et l'efficacité des médicaments des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada, le programme CAN-AIM réunit plus de 45 membres du corps professoral de 12 universités du Canada.

Publications choisies


Cliquez sur Pubmed pour voir la liste de mes publications

  • Chaillet N, Dumont A, Abrahamowicz M, Pasquier JC, Audibert F, Monnier P, Abenhaim HA, Dubé E, Dugas M, Burne R, Fraser WD; for the QUARISMA Trial research group. A cluster-randomized trial for safely reducing caesarean in Québec. N Engl J Med (NEJM). 2015 Apr;372:1710-1721.

  • Wynant W, Abrahamowicz M. Flexible estimation of survival curves conditional on non-linear and time-dependent predictor effects. Stat Med. 2016 Feb;35(4):553-65.

  • Abrahamowicz M, Bjerre L, Beauchamp M-E, LeLorier J, Burne R. The missing cause approach to unmeasured confounding in pharmacoepidemiology. Stat Med. 2016 Mar;35(7):1001-16.

  • Danieli C, Abrahamowicz M. Competing risks modelling of cumulative effects of time-varying drug exposures. Stat Methods Med Res. 2019 Jan;28(1):248-262.

  • Burne R, Abrahamowicz M. Adjustment for time-dependent unmeasured confounders in marginal structural Cox models using validation sample data. Stat Methods Med Res. 2019 Feb;28(2):357-371.

Breadcrumb

Researcher List - Sidebar Search Title

RESEARCHER PROFILES

Quick Search

ri-custom-search Portlet

Asset Publisher

angle-left Michal Abrahamowicz, PhD

Senior Scientist, RI-MUHC , 5252 de Maisonneuve

Cardiovascular Health Across the Lifespan Program

Centre for Outcomes Research and Evaluation

Professor, Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Faculty of Medicine, McGill University

 

Keywords


biostatistics • cohort studies • comparative effectiveness • confounding • instrumental variables • non-parametric regression • pharmaco-epidemiology • splines • statistical modeling • survival analysis

Research Focus


My research focuses on the development of new and flexible methods for the analysis of clinical and biomedical data, in particular of survival analysis, and on their applications in the studies of safety and effectiveness of drugs and treatments, cancer, arthritis and cardiovascular epidemiology.

My research activities combine development of new statistical models for survival analysis and longitudinal population-based analyses of human health with collaborative research in which these new methods are applied in real-life clinical and epidemiological studies. The main objectives of my fundamental research in statistical methodology are the modeling of time-varying and cumulative effects of risk/prognostic factors and treatments, and correcting for different biases inherent in observational (non-randomized) studies. I am a co-founder and, since 2013, the co-Chair of the international STRATOS initiative for improving the analyses of observational studies (www.stratos-initiative.org), involving more than 100 experts in different areas of statistics from 18 countries. My collaborative research includes large clinical trials and longitudinal population-based studies of arthritis, cardiovascular diseases and cancer, as well as pharmacoepidemiology. I created and have been the nominated principal investigator (2011-2019) of the CAN-AIM network for prospective studies of drug safety and effectiveness. Funded by the Drug Safety and Effectiveness Network of the Canadian Institutes for Health Research, CAN-AIM brings together over 45 faculty members from 12 universities across Canada.

Selected Publications


Click on Pubmed to see my current publications list

  • Chaillet N, Dumont A, Abrahamowicz M, Pasquier JC, Audibert F, Monnier P, Abenhaim HA, Dubé E, Dugas M, Burne R, Fraser WD; for the QUARISMA Trial research group. A cluster-randomized trial for safely reducing caesarean in Québec. N Engl J Med (NEJM). 2015 Apr;372:1710-1721.

  • Wynant W, Abrahamowicz M. Flexible estimation of survival curves conditional on non-linear and time-dependent predictor effects. Stat Med. 2016 Feb;35(4):553-65.

  • Abrahamowicz M, Bjerre L, Beauchamp M-E, LeLorier J, Burne R. The missing cause approach to unmeasured confounding in pharmacoepidemiology. Stat Med. 2016 Mar;35(7):1001-16.

  • Danieli C, Abrahamowicz M. Competing risks modelling of cumulative effects of time-varying drug exposures. Stat Methods Med Res. 2019 Jan;28(1):248-262.

  • Burne R, Abrahamowicz M. Adjustment for time-dependent unmeasured confounders in marginal structural Cox models using validation sample data. Stat Methods Med Res. 2019 Feb;28(2):357-371.