Newsletter - Banner

Fil d'ariane

Agrégateur de contenus

angle-left Le forum From PhD to Employee suscite la réflexion et ouvre des perspectives

Le rapport nous présente les solutions proposées par les participants quant aux problèmes liés au développement de carrière

1er juin 2020

Source : IR-CUSM. Le 13 juin 2019, des experts et des intervenants se sont réunis à l’Institut de recherche du Centre universitaire de santé McGill (IR-CUSM) afin de discuter de préparation à la carrière; cette activité était destinée aux étudiants de cycle supérieur dans le secteur des sciences de la vie. Plus de 20 personnes issues de l’IR CUSM et cinq conférenciers invités ont participé au forum From PhD to Employee, organisé par le Centre Desjardins de formation avancée (CDFA). Le CDFA nous rapporte ci-dessous certains des points de vus exprimés lors de cette activité.

Logo Centre Desjardins de formation avancée (CDFA)

Des données révèlent que les titulaires d’un doctorat poursuivent leur carrière dans divers domaines. Selon des données récentes provenant des universités canadiennes, moins de 35 pour cent des titulaires d’un doctorat en sciences de la santé occupent un poste dans le domaine de la recherche ou au sein du corps professoral d’une université après l’obtention de leur diplôme, et ce, pendant une période pouvant aller jusqu’à sept ans. Bien que la grande majorité des titulaires d’un doctorat poursuivent une carrière à l’extérieur du milieu universitaire, bon nombre d’entre eux ne sont pas assez bien informés sur les possibilités de carrière s’offrant à eux à l’extérieur du monde universitaire et affirment ne pas avoir suffisamment de connaissances sur ces possibilités de carrière.

Le rapport produit à l’issue du forum se concentre sur certains des problèmes courants liés au développement de carrière et sur les solutions potentielles identifiées par les participants à cette activité. Il traite de l’importance de recueillir et d’interpréter des données sur le développement de carrière. Ces données peuvent inclure un suivi sur les parcours de carrière des anciens étudiants ainsi que l’utilisation des évaluations des compétences avant et après les sessions de formation, l’utilisation de statistiques (nombre de participants à une activité) et des sondages sur la satisfaction.

La comparaison des données et des évaluations provenant de divers centres comporte certaines difficultés; les participants ont estimé qu’à cet égard, il est essentiel d’intensifier la collaboration entre les centres. De plus, bien que les centres de carrières et les programmes se soient concentrés sur l’évaluation des données numériques (nombre de participants, pourcentage de satisfaction, pourcentage de diplômés dans un champ professionnel spécifique), les participants au forum ont discuté de l’utilité de colliger davantage de données qualitatives sur la carrière que mènent les diplômés. Ces histoires relatives à la carrière pourraient s’avérer plus utiles pour les stagiaires; en effet, ces derniers ont estimé qu’elles comportaient des renseignements plus pointus, donnant matière à réflexion. Des mécanismes de financement, de source provinciale ou fédérale, destinés à soutenir le suivi des données sur la carrière que mènent les diplômés favoriseraient également le partage des données et le développement de taxonomies communes. Ce financement apporterait également un soutien quant au coût en ressources élevé lié à la cueillette de données solides.

Deux autres thèmes sont traités en détail dans le rapport : comment pallier les lacunes en matière de compétences générales et comment répondre aux besoins des employeurs quant aux compétences, et comment recruter plus de stagiaires dans les programmes de développement de carrière.

Le CDFA tient à remercier très chaleureusement les conférenciers invités et les participants au forum qui ont aussi contribué à la rédaction du rapport. Le rapport comprend la liste complète des participants. Les conférenciers invités ont abordé les sujets suivants :

Vanderbilt’s ASPIRE Program: Broadening Training Experiences for Biomedical Scientists
Ashley Brady, Ph. D., Director of Career Engagement and Strategic Partnerships in the Office of Career Development, Assistant Professor of Medical Education and Administration, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, U.S. (directrice, Engagement professionnel et Partenariats stratégiques au Bureau du développement de carrière, professeure adjointe en médecine et en administration, Faculté de médecine de l’Université Vanderbilt, États-Unis)

Rethinking Graduate Education: Embedding professional development training into the doctoral curriculum
Helen Miliotis, Ph. D., Assistant Professor, Department of Physiology, University of Toronto (professeure adjointe, Département de physiologie, Université de Toronto)

Drawing on peers to support career path exploration among trainees
Emily Bell, Ph. D., gestionnaire, Centre Desjardins de formation avancée, IR-CUSM et Lorna MacEachern, M.A., Career Advisor at Career Planning Service, McGill University (conseillère en orientation, Service de planification de carrière (CaPS), Université McGill)

Student perspectives of STEM education in Canada
Shawn McGuirk, Ph. D., Science Policy Fellow at the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada, previously President of Science & Policy Exchange (boursier en politique scientifique, Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada, ex-président de Science & Policy Exchange)

Industrial Insights and Navigating Networks
Luciana Longo, Career Education Specialist, Faculty of Science – Graduate Students, Career and Co-op Centre, Ryerson University (spécialiste de la formation au cheminement de carrière, Faculté des sciences – Étudiants de cycle supérieur, Centre de carrières et de coopération, Université Ryerson)

Les chercheurs, le personnel et les stagiaires de l’IR-CUSM peuvent ouvrir une session sur le portail de l’IR-CUSM pour consulter la version intégrale du rapport sur la page du Centre Desjardins de formation avancée.

Newsletter - Banner

Breadcrumb

Asset Publisher

angle-left From PhD to Employee Forum generates insights and perspectives

Report shares participants’ solutions to career development challenges in the life sciences

June 1, 2020

Source: RI-MUHC. On June 13, 2019, experts and stakeholders gathered at the Research Institute of the McGill University Health Centre (RI-MUHC) to discuss career preparation for graduate students in the life sciences. More than 20 local participants and five invited speakers took part in the From PhD to Employee Forum hosted by the Desjardins Centre for Advanced Training (DCAT). Below, DCAT shares some of the insights captured in the forum report.

Desjardins Centre for Advanced Training (DCAT) logo

Data shows that PhD graduates pursue diverse careers. Recent data from Canadian universities indicates that fewer than 35% of health science PhD graduates are employed in research-intensive or tenure-stream faculty positions up to seven years after graduation. Although the overwhelming majority of PhDs pursue non-academic career paths, many are inadequately informed about non-faculty career paths and lack exposure to career options outside of academia.

The forum report centres on some common career development challenges and potential solutions identified by forum participants. It explores the importance of collecting and interpreting career development outcomes, which may include tracking career paths of alumni as well as utilizing pre-post skills assessments, usage statistics (number of participants at an event) and satisfaction surveys.

There are challenges to comparing outcomes and evaluations across centres, and participants considered more collaboration on this front to be vital. Additionally, while the focus for career centres and programs has been on evaluating numerical data (number of attendees, percent satisfaction, percent of graduates in a specific career field), forum participants discussed the utility of collecting more qualitative data on career outcomes. These career stories may prove to be more helpful for trainees, as they considered, containing richer information to mine. Provincial or federal funding mechanisms to support outcomes tracking would also encourage data sharing and the development of common taxonomies, and support the high resource burden of collecting robust data.

Two other themes are explored in detail in the report: how to tackle general skills deficiencies and unmet employer skill needs, and how to engage more trainees in career development programs.

DCAT extends a warm thank-you to forum guests and participants who also participated in developing the report. A full list of participants is available in the report. Invited guests presented the following topics:

Vanderbilt’s ASPIRE Program: Broadening Training Experiences for Biomedical Scientists
Ashley Brady, PhD, Director of Career Engagement and Strategic Partnerships in the Office of Career Development, Assistant Professor of Medical Education and Administration, Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, U.S.

Rethinking Graduate Education: Embedding professional development training into the doctoral curriculum
Helen Miliotis, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Physiology, University of Toronto

Drawing on peers to support career path exploration among trainees
Emily Bell, PhD, Manager of the Desjardins Centre of Advanced Training of the RI-MUHC, and Lorna MacEachern, MA, Career Advisor at Career Planning Service, McGill University

Student perspectives of STEM education in Canada
Shawn McGuirk, PhD, Science Policy Fellow at the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada, previously President of Science & Policy Exchange

Industrial Insights and Navigating Networks
Luciana Longo, Career Education Specialist, Faculty of Science – Graduate Students, Career and Co-op Centre, Ryerson University

RI-MUHC researchers, staff and trainees may log in to the RI-MUHC Portal to access the full report on the Desjardins Centre for Advanced Training page.