Fil d'ariane

Researcher List - Sidebar Search Title

PROFILS DES CHERCHEURS

Recherche rapide

ri-custom-search Portlet

Agrégateur de contenus

angle-left Jason Harley, Ph. D.

Scientifique junior, IR-CUSM , Hôpital général de Montréal

Programme de recherche : blessure, réparation et récupération

Centre de recherche évaluative en santé

Professeur adjoint, Département de chirurgie, Faculté de médecine, Université McGill

 

Mots-clés


Surgical education • simulations • emotion regulation • coping • burnout • medical technology • team training • health literacy • media literacy

Aire de recherche


Ma recherche vise à améliorer la formation chirurgicale et médicale et à aider les travailleurs de la santé en réduisant les événements indésirables et les inefficacités, surtout ceux étant liés à l’incidence des émotions indésirables et non régularisées et de l’épuisement. Dans mon laboratoire, nous mettons en application des théories psychologiques et éducationnelles à l’aide de méthodes de recherche interdisciplinaires et nous misons sur les technologies avancées, comme la réalité augmentée (RA), la réalité virtuelle (RV) et l’intelligence artificielle (IA) pour atteindre ces objectifs. Mon programme de recherche interdisciplinaire s’appuie sur des méthodes combinées (quantitatives et qualitatives) qui comprennent des mesures objectives (p. ex. la conduction cutanée, les logiciels de reconnaissance faciale, l’oculométrie) et subjectives (p. ex. instruments d’auto-évaluation, entrevues semi-structurées) d’émotion et de cognition qui nous aident à évaluer une variété de compétences chirurgicales et médicales.

Actuellement, j'étudie les stratégies d'adaptation utilisées par les travailleurs de la santé pour gérer le stress pendant la pandémie afin d’évaluer leur efficacité et utiliser ces renseignements pour recommander de nouvelles mesures pour protéger la santé mentale des professionnels de la santé. Mon laboratoire SAILS et moi-même développons et testons également des outils d'éducation publique pour améliorer la compréhension de l’information concernant la COVID-19, y compris l’information des médias, en mettant l'accent sur le rôle de la réglementation des émotions dans la promotion de la compréhension du public et des comportements de santé adaptifs.

Publications choisies


  • Harley, J.M., Pekrun, R., Taxer, J.L., & Gross, J.J. (2019). Emotion regulation in achievement situations: An integrated model. Educational Psychologist, 54(2), 106-126. DOI: 10.1080/00461520.2019.1587297.

  • Harley, J.M., Jarrell, A., & Lajoie, S.P. (2019). Emotion regulation tendencies, achievement emotions, and physiological arousal in a medical diagnostic reasoning simulation. Instructional Science, 47(2), 151-180. DOI: 10.1007/s11251-018-09480-z.

  • Harley, J. M., Taub, M., Azevedo, R., & Bouchet, F. (2018). “Let’s set up some subgoals”: Understanding human-pedagogical agent collaborations and their implications for learning and prompt and feedback compliance. IEEE Transactions on Learning Technologies, 11(1), 54-66. DOI: 10.1109/TLT.2017.2756629.

  • Harley, J.M., Lajoie, S. P., Frasson, C., Hall, N.C., & (2017). Developing emotion-aware, advanced learning technologies: A taxonomy of approaches and features. International Journal of Artificial Intelligence in Education, 27(2), 268-297. DOI: 10.1007/s40593-016-0126-8.

  • Harley, J. M., Bouchet, F., Hussain, S., Azevedo, R., & Calvo, R. (2015). A multi-componential analysis of emotions during complex learning with an intelligent multi-agent system. Computers in Human Behavior, 48, 615-625. DOI: 10.1016/j.chb.2015.02.013.

Breadcrumb

null Jason Harley, PhD

Scientist, RI-MUHC , Montreal General Hospital

Injury Repair Recovery Program

Centre for Outcomes Research and Evaluation

Assistant Professor, Department of Surgery, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, McGill University

 

Keywords


Surgical education • simulations • emotion regulation • coping • burnout • medical technology • team training • health literacy • media literacy

Research Focus


My research aims to enhance surgical and medical education and support health care workers by reducing adverse events and inefficiencies, especially those associated with the incidence of undesirable and unregulated emotions and burnout. In my lab, we apply psychological and educational theories using interdisciplinary research methods and leverage advanced technologies, including augmented reality (AR), virtual reality (VR) and artificial intelligence (AI), to accomplish these aims. My interdisciplinary research program draws on mixed methods (quantitative and qualitative) that include both objective (e.g., skin conductance, facial recognition software, eyetracking) and subjective (self-report instruments, semi-structured interviews) measures of emotion and cognition that help us assess a variety of surgical and medical competencies.

Currently, I am investigating coping strategies that health care workers are using to deal with stress during the pandemic, assessing their effectiveness, and using that information to recommend new measures to protect the mental health of health care professionals. My SAILS Lab and I are also developing and testing public education tools to enhance COVID-19 health and media literacy with a special focus on the role of emotion regulation in promoting public understanding and adaptive health behaviours.

Selected Publications


  • Harley, J.M, Montreuil, T. C., Lou, N. M.+, Feldman, L.S., Fried, G.M., Lavoie-Tremblay, M., Bhanji, F., Kennedy, H. (2022/ online first). Rethinking how health care professionals cope with stress: A process model for COVID-19 and beyond. Health Care Management Review. DOI: 10.1097/HMR.0000000000000345.

  • Bilgic, E., Gorgy, A., Yang, A., Cwintal, M., Ranjbar, H., Kahla, K., Reddy, D., Li, K., Ozturk, H., Zimmermann, E., Quaiattini, A., Abbasgholizadeh-Rahimi, S., Poenaru, D., & Harley, J.M. (in press / online first 2021). Exploring the Roles of Artificial Intelligence in Surgical Education: A Scoping Review. The American Journal of Surgery. DOI:10.1016/j.amjsurg.2021.11.023.

  • Fazlollahi AM+, Bakhaidar M, Alsayegh A, Yilmaz R, Winkler-Schwartz A, Mirchi N, Langleben I, Ledwos N., Sabbagh, A., Bajunaid, A., Harley JM, & Del Maestro RF. (2022) Artificial Intelligence Tutoring Compared with Expert Instruction in Surgical Simulation Training: A Randomized Control Trial. JAMA Network Open, 5(2), e2149008-e2149008.

  • Harley, J.M., Pekrun, R., Taxer, J.L., & Gross, J.J. (2019). Emotion regulation in achievement situations: An integrated model. Educational Psychologist, 54(2), 106-126. DOI: 10.1080/00461520.2019.1587297.

  • Harley, J.M., Jarrell, A., & Lajoie, S.P. (2019). Emotion regulation tendencies, achievement emotions, and physiological arousal in a medical diagnostic reasoning simulation. Instructional Science, 47(2), 151-180. DOI: 10.1007/s11251-018-09480-z.