Equity, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) in the BRaIN Program

The BRaIN Program is committed to supporting and strengthening EDI within the research environment. The BRaIN Program has a fundamental and unwavering commitment to fostering a diverse community of researchers and scientists, where racism and discrimination in any form is not accepted or tolerated.

EDI Committee, BRaIN Program

The Brain Repair and Integrative Neuroscience (BRaIN) Program’s Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion (EDI) committee is a participatory body focusing on understanding issues and implementing initiatives surrounding EDI in the BRaIN program of the RI-MUHC.

Our group members are of BRaIN researchers, trainees, and staff. We aim to build a neuroscience research environment that is representative of the society in which we live. Our goal is to actively promote inclusivity at every level, and to create an environment where every member of the BRaIN program feels heard, valued, and has the opportunity to thrive. The cornerstones of the Committee’s work include open dialogue, active listening and reflection, as well as building initiatives that create a concrete and lasting impact on the BRaIN community.

To achieve our goals, we aim to create research opportunities for historically marginalized groups in neuroscience as well as host workshops on various EDI topics. The BRaIN Program’s EDI Committee works in direct communication and alignment with the RI-MUHC’s EDI initiatives and team. Learn more about EDI at the RI-MUHC.

EDI Committee Members, BRaIN Program

Last updated January 2024

Lauren Cinq-Mars, B.Sc., M.Sc. candidate
Christina Chou, B.Sc., PhD Candidate
Megan Cott, B.Sc., M.Sc. candidate
Laura Curran, Laboratory Supervisor
Annabel Wing-Yan Fan, PhD Candidate
Yvonne Gardner, Program Assistant, BRaIN
Connie Guo, B.Sc., M.Sc. candidate
Wei-Hsiang Huang, PhD, Junior Scientist, RI-MUHC
Alexandra Kindrat, PhD, Program Manager, BRaIN
Claire Marquilly, PhD, Research Associate
Janine Mendola, PhD, Associate Professor, RI-MUHC
Dionysia Moschou, M.Sc. PhD Candidate (Co-chair)
Keith Murai, PhD, Professor, RI-MUHC
Julie O’Reilly, PhD Candidate
Luiza Passos Volpi, PhD Candidate
Rinku Sarkar, MBBCh, PhD Student
Ourania Tsatas, BSc, Project Coordinator, BRaIN
Airi Watanabe, PhD Candidate
Mingli Zhang, PhD, Post-Doctoral Research Fellow
Raffles Xingqi Zhu, PhD Candidate (Chair)

Our EDI Partners

IBRO logo

Explore research at the RI-MUHC