Newsletter - Banner

Fil d'ariane

Agrégateur de contenus

angle-left “The Sleep of Reason Produces Monsters: Science and the Scientific Method in Popular Imagination,” une conférence publique présentée dans le cadre du project Convergence, une perception des neurosciences (25 octobre 2017)

Le Programme en réparation du cerveau et en neurosciences intégratives (RCNI) de l’Institut de recherche du Centre universitaire de santé McGill (IR-CUSM) est fier de son partenariat avec l’initiative Convergence, une perception des neurosciences. L’an dernier, cette initiative a créé 16 œuvres d’art en collaboration avec des étudiants de cycles supérieurs du programme RCNI, et avec des étudiants de premier cycle universitaire de la Faculté des beaux-arts de l’Université Concordia. Cette année, Convergence dévoile une série de présentations par des scientifiques et des artistes qui œuvrent dans des disciplines hybrides combinant les sciences et les arts.

Le mercredi 25 octobre, la série de conférences Convergence Sci-Art/Art-Sci présente “The Sleep of Reason Produces Monsters: Science and the Scientific Method in Popular Imagination” (en anglais) par Trevor Butterworth, le directeur de Sense About Science USA et un conférencier aux symposiums scientifiques pour le public Lorne Trottier (2016). Cette présentation portera sur les influences réciproques entre la science, les arts et les médias, et leurs effets sur le grand public.


Veuillez contacter le Dr Cristian Zaelzer à info@convergenceinitiative.org pour plus de détails, ou visitez le site de Convergence, une perception des neurosciences : www.convergenceinitiative.org

Où : Hôpital général de Montréal du CUSM, 1650 avenue Cedar, L7-140

Quand : le 25 octobre de 18 h à 19 h

Conférencier : Trevor Butterworth, directeur de Sense About Science USA

Cliquez ici pour plus de détails


Important: Veuillez noter que cet événement sera enregistré et filmé.

Pour en savoir plus

Back

“The Sleep of Reason Produces Monsters: Science and the Scientific Method in Popular Imagination,” a public lecture in context of the “Convergence, Perceptions of Neuroscience” project (October 25, 2017)

The Brain Repair and Integrative Neuroscience (BRaIN) Program of the Research Institute of the McGill University Health Centre (RI-MUHC) is proud to partner with Convergence, Perceptions of Neuroscience. In the last academic year this initiative created 16 works of art in collaboration between graduate students in the BRaIN Program and undergrad students from the Concordia University Faculty of Fine Arts. Although the academic course is in hiatus this year, Convergence is introducing a series of talks showcasing the work of scientists and artists in a crossover of disciplines between the sciences and the arts.

On Wednesday, October 25, the Convergence Sci-Art/Art-Sci Conferences Series presents a talk by Trevor Butterworth, the Director of Sense About Science USA and 2016 Trottier Public Science Symposium speaker, entitled “The Sleep of Reason Produces Monsters: Science and the Scientific Method in Popular Imagination.” The lecture will focus on how the reciprocal influences of science, art and media affect the general population.


Please contact Dr. Cristian Zaelzer at info@convergenceinitiative.org for details, or visit Convergence, Perceptions of Neuroscience website: www.convergenceinitiative.org

Where: Montreal General Hospital of the MUHC, 1650 Cedar Av, L7-140

When: October 25, 6 to 7 p.m.

Speaker: Trevor Butterworth, Executive Director of Sense About Science USA

Click here for details


Important: Please note that this event will be filmed and recorded.

Learn more