Rechercher par ordre alphabétique

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Retour

Elizabeth Fixman, PhD

Mots-clés


Asthme • cytokines (IL-4/IL-13/IL-17) • rétrovirus recombinants • peptides de pénétration cellulaire • modèles animaux

Aire de recherche


La recherche se déroulant dans mon laboratoire se concentre actuellement sur deux domaines principaux. Pour le premier projet, nous enquêtons sur les mécanismes par lesquels les sous-ensembles de lymphocyte T orchestrent des réponses liées à l'inflammation des voies respiratoires dans les maladies des voies respiratoires allergiques comme l'asthme. Les lymphocytes de type Th2 sont des médiateurs bien caractérisés, et ce, à la fois dans les modèles humains et animaux de l'asthme. Plus récemment, de nouveaux sous-ensembles de lymphocytes T produisant un médiateur inflammatoire nommé IL-17 ont été impliqués dans les maladies des voies respiratoires allergiques. Nous utilisons des modèles de murinés bien établis de maladie des voies respiratoires allergiques, des cytokines recombinantes ainsi que des technologies de rétrovirus recombinants pour caractériser la façon dont les cellules à expression IL-17 modulent l'inflammation de type Th2 dans les poumons. Comme second projet de mon laboratoire, nous enquêtons sur les nouveaux mécanismes par lesquels une protéine appelée STAT6 enclenche les réponses allergiques dans les voies respiratoires. Pour ces études, nous utilisons un peptide spécial qui a été conçu pour pénétrer les cellules et lier et bloquer STAT6. Nous évaluons la capacité de ce peptide à bloquer l'amorce de la réponse allergique.

Publications choisies


Cliquez sur Pubmed pour voir la liste de mes publications

  • Wang, Y., Li, Y., J. Shan, E.D. Fixman, and C.M. McCusker. (2011) Effective treatment of experimental ragweed-induced asthma with STAT-6-IP, a topically delivered cell penetrating peptide. Clin. Exp. Allergy. 41:1622-1630.

  • Kinyanjui, M.W., J. Shan, E.M. Nakada, S.T. Qureshi, and E.D. Fixman. (2013) Dose-dependent effects of IL-17 on IL-13-induced airway inflammatory responses and airway hyperresponsiveness. J. Immunol. 190:3859-3868.

Search by alphabetical order

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Back

Elizabeth Fixman, PhD

Research Institute of the McGill University Health Centre

Regular Member
Respiratory Health


McGill University Health Centre (MUHC)

Medical Scientist


McGill University

Department of Medicine


Research Interest


My research focuses on two main areas. For the first project, we are investigating mechanisms by which different T lymphocyte subsets orchestrate airway inflammatory responses in allergic airways diseases such as asthma. Th2 type lymphocytes are well-characterized mediators in both humans and in animal models of asthma. More recently, new subsets of T lymphocytes which produce an inflammatory mediator called IL-17 have been implicated in allergic airways disease. We are using well-established murine models of allergic airways disease, recombinant cytokines, as well as recombinant retrovirus technologies to characterize how IL-17 expressing cells modulate Th2 type inflammation in the lung. For the second project in my lab we are investigating novel mechanisms by which a protein called STAT6 initiates allergic responses in the airways. For these studies we are using a special peptide that was designed to enter cells and bind to and inhibit STAT6. We are assessing the ability of this peptide to inhibit the initiation of the allergic response.

Research Foci


  • modulation Th2-biased allergic responses in the airways by CD4+ and γδT cells producing IL-17
  • modulation of allergic airways disease by cell penetrating peptides targeting STAT6

Keywords


Asthma, cytokines (IL-4/IL-13/IL-17), recombinant retroviruses, cell penetrating peptides, animal models

Selected Publications


Click on Pubmed to see my current publications list

  • Wang, Y., Li, Y., J. Shan, E.D. Fixman, and C.M. McCusker. (2011) Effective treatment of experimental ragweed-induced asthma with STAT-6-IP, a topically delivered cell penetrating peptide. Clin. Exp. Allergy. 41:1622-1630.

  • Kinyanjui, M.W., J. Shan, E.M. Nakada, S.T. Qureshi, and E.D. Fixman. (2013) Dose-dependent effects of IL-17 on IL-13-induced airway inflammatory responses and airway hyperresponsiveness. J. Immunol. 190:3859-3868.