Rechercher par ordre alphabétique

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Retour

Evelyn Constantin, M.D., M.Sc. (Epi)

Scientifique, IR-CUSM, 5252 de Maisonneuve

Programme en santé de l'enfant et en développement humain

Professeure agrégée, Département de pédiatrie, Faculté de médecine, Université McGill

 

Mots-clés


Enfant • apnée obstructive du sommeil • adéno-amygdalectomie • résultats des traitements • tests de diagnostic • obésité • résistance à l’insuline • qualité de vie • paralysie cérébrale • troubles neurodéveloppementaux • bonnes habitudes de sommeil

Aire de recherche


Ma recherche porte sur le sommeil chez les enfants. J’examine les répercussions de l’apnée obstructive du sommeil sur les facteurs de risque cardiométaboliques, les troubles neurocognitifs et la qualité de vie, l’effet du traitement des troubles du sommeil sur des résultats de santé particuliers et la promotion des bonnes habitudes de sommeil. J’ai élaboré un programme de recherche en faisant appel à des collaborations interdisciplinaires, afin d’explorer des questions portant sur le sommeil chez les enfants atteints de maladies chroniques, y compris des troubles neurodéveloppementaux, métaboliques et génétiques. De même, mon intérêt porte sur l’évaluation des questions de sommeil chez les enfants atteints de paralysie cérébrale; une population sous-étudiée. Figurant au Canada parmi les quelques scientifiques cliniciens spécialistes en médecine du sommeil chez l’enfant qui sont formés en épidémiologie, j’ai établi une vaste base de données de recherche de type longitudinal pour notre laboratoire de sommeil pédiatrique - la seule cohorte de ce type au pays. Dans le cadre de nos études menées à terme jusque-là, l’utilisation de cette unique cohorte longitudinale confirme sa valeur à titre de tremplin en vue de futures études sur l’apnée obstructive du sommeil et son traitement chez les enfants.

Publications choisies


  • Constantin E. Good as ‘Gold’? Portable sleep study devices for sleep disordered breathing in children. Canadian Respiratory Journal 21(1):29-30, 2014 Jan-Feb. [Invited Editorial]

  • Horwood L, Nguyen L, Brown K, Paci P, Constantin E. African-American Ethnicity as a Risk Factor for Respiratory Complications Following Adenotonsillectomy. JAMA Otolaryngol Head Neck Surg. 139(2):147-52, 2013 Feb 1.

  • Williams K, Thomson D, Seto I, Contopoulos-Ioannidis DG, Ioannidis JPA, Curtis S, Constantin E, Batmanabane G, Hartling L, Klassen T. Standards for child health trial design, conduct and reporting. STANDARD 6: Age Groups for pediatric trials. Pediatrics 129( Supplement 3), S153 -S160, 2012 Jun.

  • Simard-Tremblay E, Constantin E, Gruber R, Brouillette RT, Shevell M. Sleep in Children with Cerebral Palsy: A Review. J Child Neurol. 26(10):1303-10, 2011.

  • Constantin E, Tewfik T, Brouillette RT. Can the OSA-18 Quality-of-Life Questionnaire Detect Obstructive Sleep Apnea in Children? Pediatrics 125:e162-e168, 2010.

Breadcrumb

Asset Publisher

angle-left Evelyn Constantin, MD, M.Sc. (Epi)

Scientist, RI-MUHC, 5252 de Maisonneuve

Child Health and Human Development Program

Associate Professor, Department of Pediatrics, Faculty of Medicine, McGill University

 

Keywords


Child • obstructive sleep apnea • adenotonsillectomy • treatment outcomes • diagnostic testing • obesity • insulin resistance • quality of life • cerebral palsy • neurodevelopmental disabilities • healthy sleep habits

Research Focus


My research focuses on sleep in children. I study the effect of obstructive sleep apnea (OSA) on cardiometabolic risk, neurocognitive deficits and quality of life, as well as the impact of treatment for sleep disorders on specific health outcomes and the promotion of healthy sleep habits. I have developed a research program with interdisciplinary collaborations to explore sleep issues in children with chronic conditions, including neurodevelopmental disabilities and genetic or metabolic conditions. One current focus is the evaluation of sleep issues in children with cerebral palsy, an understudied population. One of the few clinician-scientists in pediatric sleep medicine in Canada trained in epidemiology, I have established a large longitudinal research database for our pediatric sleep laboratory - the only such cohort in the country. Our studies completed to date using this unique longitudinal cohort confirm its value as a springboard for future studies on obstructive sleep apnea and its treatment in children.

Selected Publications


  • Constantin E. Good as ‘Gold’? Portable sleep study devices for sleep disordered breathing in children. Canadian Respiratory Journal 21(1):29-30, 2014 Jan-Feb. [Invited Editorial]

  • Horwood L, Nguyen L, Brown K, Paci P, Constantin E. African-American Ethnicity as a Risk Factor for Respiratory Complications Following Adenotonsillectomy. JAMA Otolaryngol Head Neck Surg. 139(2):147-52, 2013 Feb 1.

  • Williams K, Thomson D, Seto I, Contopoulos-Ioannidis DG, Ioannidis JPA, Curtis S, Constantin E, Batmanabane G, Hartling L, Klassen T. Standards for child health trial design, conduct and reporting. STANDARD 6: Age Groups for pediatric trials. Pediatrics 129( Supplement 3), S153 -S160, 2012 Jun.

  • Simard-Tremblay E, Constantin E, Gruber R, Brouillette RT, Shevell M. Sleep in Children with Cerebral Palsy: A Review. J Child Neurol. 26(10):1303-10, 2011.

  • Constantin E, Tewfik T, Brouillette RT. Can the OSA-18 Quality-of-Life Questionnaire Detect Obstructive Sleep Apnea in Children? Pediatrics 125:e162-e168, 2010.