Rechercher par ordre alphabétique

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Retour

Jean-Jacques Lebrun, MSc, PhD

Scientifique senior, IR-CUSM, site Glen

Programme de recherche sur le cancer

Doyen associé, Cycles supérieurs et études postdoctorales

 

Mots-clés


TGF&beta • signalisation des Smad • recherche sur les mélanomes • arrêt de la croissance des cellules • apoptose • immortalisation des cellules • migration des cellules • invasion des cellules

Aire de recherche


Ma recherche porte sur le rôle et le mécanisme de l'action du facteur de croissance transformation-&beta (TGF&beta) dans la régulation de la formation de tumeurs et la progression du cancer, avec un objectif à long terme de développer de nouvelles thérapies pour lutter contre le cancer métastatique. Les différents projets de recherche que j'ai mis sur pied au sein de mon laboratoire sont basés sur le double rôle de ce facteur de croissance dans le cancer. D'un côté, le TGF&beta exerce des effets de suppression des tumeurs dans les cellules normales et dans les carcinomes précoces, tandis que pour les cancers avancés, le TGF&beta a des fonctions promigratoires et pro-invasives. Avec cette information, nous avons développé deux lignes de recherche. La première vise à définir le rôle de suppression des tumeurs du TGF&beta et la façon dont ce facteur de croissance freine la prolifération des cellules, induit l'apoptose et prévient l'immortalisation des cellules normales et les carcinomes précoces. La deuxième vise à définir l'effet prométastatique de cette cytokine dans les cancers invasifs, en mettant l'accent sur le cancer du sein avec pour objectif la création de nouvelles thérapies anti-transmission du TGF&beta contre le cancer.

Publications choisies


Cliquez sur Pubmed pour voir la liste de mes publications

  • Dai M, AlOdaini A, Arakelian A, Rabbani S, Ali S, Lebrun JJ (2012) A novel function for p21 as a critical regulator of TGF&beta mediated breast cancer metastasis. Breast Cancer Res, 2012 Sep 20;14(5):R127.

  • Korah J, Falah N, Lacerte A, Lebrun JJ (2012). A transcriptionally active pRb-E2F1-P/CAF signaling pathway is central to TGF&beta-mediated apoptosis, Cell Death and Disease, Nature Publishing Group, Vol 3. Pp 407

  • Humbert L and Lebrun JJ (2013) TGF-beta inhibits human cutaneous melanoma cell migration and invasion through regulation of the plasminogen activator system Cell Signaling, Vol 25(2), 490-500

  • Fils-Aime N, Dai M, Guo J, Kahramangil B, Neel JC, Lebrun JJ. (2013). Micro-RNA-584 and PHACTR1: New Signaling Route Through Which Transforming Growth Factor-Beta Mediates the Migration and Actin Dynamics of Breast Cancer Cells. J Biol Chem 2013 Mar 11.

  • Neel JC, Lebrun JJ. (2013). Activin and TGF&beta regulate expression of the microRNA-181 family to promote cell migration and invasion in breast cancer cells. Cell Signaling, 2013 Mar 22;25(7):1556-1566

Breadcrumb

Asset Publisher

angle-left Jean-Jacques Lebrun, MSc, PhD

Senior Scientist, RI-MUHC, Glen site

Cancer Research Program

Associate Dean, Graduate & Postdoctoral Studies

 

Keywords


TGF&beta • Smad signaling • tumor suppression • breast cancer metastasis • melanoma research • cell growth arrest • apoptosis • cell immortalization • cell migration • cell invasion

Research Focus


My research focuses on investigating the role and mechanism of action of the transforming growth factor-&beta (TGF&beta) in the regulation of tumor formation and cancer progression, with a long term goal of developing novel therapies against metastatic cancer. The various research projects that I developed in my laboratory are based on the dual role of this growth factor in cancer. On one hand TGFB exerts tumor suppressive effects in normal cells and in early carcinomas whereas in advanced cancer TGF&beta has pro-migratory and pro-invasive functions. With this information, we have developed two lines of research. The first is defining the tumor suppressive role of TGF&beta and how this growth factor inhibits cell proliferation, induces apoptosis, and prevents cell immortalization in normal cells and early carcinomas. The second is defining the pro-metastatic effect of this cytokine in invasive cancers, focusing on breast cancer, with the goal of designing novel anti-TGF&beta signaling therapies against cancer.

Selected Publications


Click on Pubmed to see my current publications list

  • Ghozlan M, Boudreault J, Haiub H, Wang N, Lebrun JJ (2019) The Axin Upregulated Protein 1 (AXUD1) suppresses tumor formation and metastasis downstream of TGFβ/Smad3 signaling in human cutaneous melanoma (2019) Mol Oncology (in press).

  • Tian J, Al Raffa F, Dai M, Moamer A, Khandag B, Bakdounes K, Ali S, Jean-Claude B, Lebrun JJ. (2018). Dasatinib Sensitizes Triple Negative Breast Cancer Cells to Chemotherapy by Targeting Breast Cancer Stem Cells. British Journal of Cancer. Br J Cancer. 2018 Nov 28.

  • Tian J, AlOdaini A, Wang Y, Dai M, Ali S, Lebrun JJ. (2018). KiSS1 gene as a novel mediator of TGFβ pro-invasive effects in triple negative breast cancer. Cell Signal. 2018 Jan;42:1-10.

  • Hachim MY, Hachim IY, Dai M, Ali S, Lebrun JJ. (2018) Differential expression of TGFβ isoforms in breast cancer highlights different roles during breast cancer progression. Tumor Biology Jan;40(1):1010428317748254.

  • Hachim IY, Villatoro M, Canaff L, Hachim M, Boudreault J, Haiub H, Ali S, Lebrun JJ. (2017). Transforming Growth Factor-beta Regulation Of Ephrin Type-A Receptor 4 Signaling in Breast Cancer Cellular Migration. Nature Scientific Reports. 2017 Nov 3;7(1):14976.