Rechercher par ordre alphabétique

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Retour

Per Jesper Sjöström, M.Sc., Ph. D.

Scientifique junior, IR-CUSM, Hôpital général de Montréal

Programme en réparation du cerveau et en neurosciences intégratives

Professeur agrégé, Département de médecine, Faculté de médecine, Université McGill

 

Mots-clés


plasticité synaptique • apprentissage et mémoire • circuits neuronaux • maladie synaptique

Aire de recherche


Ma recherche porte sur la compréhension du fonctionnement du cerveau, en élucidant les propriétés et les fondements mécanistiques de la plasticité ainsi que l'impact fonctionnel de cette dernière. En plus, nous enquêtons sur les modèles de connectivité qui sont issus de la plasticité et sur la façon dont ceux-ci sont modelés par l'activité. Notre objectif est de comprendre le rôle de la plasticité dans la santé ainsi que dans les pathologies comme l'épilepsie et l'autisme. Pour y parvenir, mon équipe emploie des techniques à la fine pointe de la technologie comme les enregistrements de cellules entières quadruples, la microscopie à balayage laser à deux photons et les simulations informatiques. Les neuroscientifiques croient que l'apprentissage se produit au niveau des connexions synaptiques entre les neurones du cerveau. Les événements du monde extérieur créent des modèles d'activité qui élicitent des changements dans les forces de connexion. Cette plasticité synaptique stocke alors l'information dans les circuits neuronaux, se qui se solde ainsi en la réécriture des sous-réseaux corticaux. Il y a alors des liens étroits entre les modèles d'activité et les motifs de connectivité et avec les calculs corticaux qui provoquent le rappel.

Publications choisies


Cliquez sur Pubmed pour voir la liste de mes publications

  • Abrahamsson T, Chou YCC, Li SY, Mancino A, Costa RP, Brock JA, Nuro E, Buchanan KA, Elgar D, Blackman AV, Tudor-Jones A, Oyrer J, Farmer WT, Murai KK, & Sjöström PJ: Differential Regulation of Evoked and Spontaneous Release by Presynaptic NMDA Receptors. Neuron (2017) 96(4):839-855.

  • Dore K, Stein IS, Brock JA, Castillo PE, Zito K, & Sjöström PJ: Unconventional NMDA Receptor Signaling. The Journal of Neuroscience (2017) 37(45):10800-10807.

  • Maheux J, Froemke RC, & Sjöström PJ: Functional plasticity at dendritic synapses. In Dendrites, 3rd ed (April 2016) Eds. Greg Stuart, Nelson Spruston, Michael Häusser, Oxford University Press.

  • Buchanan KA, Blackman AV, Moreau AW, Elgar D, Costa RP, Lalanne T, Tudor Jones AA, Oyrer J, & Sjöström PJ: Target-Specific Expression of Presynaptic NMDA Receptors in Neocortical Microcircuits. Neuron (2012) 75:451-466.

  • Markram H, Gerstner MW & Sjöström PJ: A history of spike-timing-dependent plasticity. Frontiers in Synaptic Neuroscience (2011) 3(4):1-24.

Breadcrumb

Asset Publisher

angle-left Per Jesper Sjöström, M.Sc., PhD

Junior Scientist, RI-MUHC, Montreal General Hospital

Brain Repair and Integrative Neuroscience (BRaIN) Program

Associate Professor, Department of Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, McGill University

 

Keywords


synaptic plasticity • learning and memory • neuronal circuits • synaptic disease

Research Focus


My research focuses on understanding the functioning of the brain, by elucidating the properties and the mechanistic underpinnings of plasticity, as well as its functional impact. In addition, we investigate the connectivity patterns that ensue from plasticity and how these are shaped by activity. Our goal is to understand the role of plasticity in health as well as in pathologies such as epilepsy and autism. To do this, my team employs state-of-the-art technology such as quadruple whole-cell recordings, two-photon laser scanning microscopy, and computer simulations. Neuroscientists believe that learning occurs at synaptic connections between neurons in the brain. Events in the outside world cause patterns of activity that elicit changes in connective strengths. This synaptic plasticity thus stores information in neuronal circuits, thereby resulting in re-wiring of cortical sub-networks. There are therefore close links between activity patterns and connectivity motifs, and the cortical computations that bring about recall.

Selected Publications


Click on Pubmed to see my current publications list

  • Abrahamsson T, Chou YCC, Li SY, Mancino A, Costa RP, Brock JA, Nuro E, Buchanan KA, Elgar D, Blackman AV, Tudor-Jones A, Oyrer J, Farmer WT, Murai KK, & Sjöström PJ: Differential Regulation of Evoked and Spontaneous Release by Presynaptic NMDA Receptors. Neuron (2017) 96(4):839-855.

  • Dore K, Stein IS, Brock JA, Castillo PE, Zito K, & Sjöström PJ: Unconventional NMDA Receptor Signaling. The Journal of Neuroscience (2017) 37(45):10800-10807.

  • Maheux J, Froemke RC, & Sjöström PJ: Functional plasticity at dendritic synapses. In Dendrites, 3rd ed (April 2016) Eds. Greg Stuart, Nelson Spruston, Michael Häusser, Oxford University Press.

  • Buchanan KA, Blackman AV, Moreau AW, Elgar D, Costa RP, Lalanne T, Tudor Jones AA, Oyrer J, & Sjöström PJ: Target-Specific Expression of Presynaptic NMDA Receptors in Neocortical Microcircuits. Neuron (2012) 75:451-466.

  • Markram H, Gerstner MW & Sjöström PJ: A history of spike-timing-dependent plasticity. Frontiers in Synaptic Neuroscience (2011) 3(4):1-24.