Fil d'ariane

Researcher List - Sidebar Search Title

PROFILS DES CHERCHEURS

Recherche rapide

ri-custom-search Portlet

Agrégateur de contenus

angle-left Matthias Friedrich, M.D., FESC, FACC

Chercheur, IR-CUSM , site Glen

Programme de recherche en santé cardiovasculaire au long de la vie

Centre de médecine innovatrice

Professeur, Département de médecine, Faculté de médecine, Université McGill

Département de médecine spécialisée, Division de cardiologie, CUSM

 

Mots-clés


Cardiovascular magnetic resonance • myocardial ischemia • coronary heart disease • acute myocardial infarction • myocarditis

Aire de recherche


Les activités de recherche du Centre de recherche sur la résonance magnétique cardiovasculaire (RMC) du Centre universitaire de santé McGill mettent l'accent sur de nouvelles techniques permettant l'optimisation et la simplification des protocoles cliniques de RMC qui nécessitent une interaction minimale et réduisent le besoin d'agents de contraste ou de protocoles de stress. Cela comprend l'application de nouvelles techniques de reconstruction d'images de RMC, l'apprentissage par machine, le balayage automatisé et la validation de nouveaux biomarqueurs d'imagerie dans les études cliniques. Plusieurs projets actuels explorent de nouvelles options pour évaluer la fonction coronarienne, en utilisant des manœuvres respiratoires plutôt que des vasodilatateurs pharmacologiques ou des protocoles de stress traditionnels comme déclencheurs vasoactifs. L'équipe de recherche de RMC vise à acquérir de nouvelles connaissances qui ont le potentiel de modifier considérablement les diagnostics en cardiologie. L'équipe a accès à deux scanneurs d'IRM cliniques (Siemens Skyra 3.0T, GE Artist 1.5T) et un accès à temps plein à un système d'IRM spécialisé (GE Premier 3.0T) pour la recherche en RMC. Le soutien le plus important au programme de recherche provient de la Fondation Courtois par l'entremise de la Fondation du Centre universitaire de santé McGill. Il y a une collaboration étroite entre les équipes de cardiologie effractive et non effractive, de chirurgie cardiaque et de radiologie. L'équipe collabore activement avec d'autres hôpitaux de Montréal, ainsi qu'avec d'autres centres universitaires au Canada et dans le monde entier, y compris des études de cohorte avec l'Alliance canadienne pour cœurs et cerveaux sains.

Publications choisies


Cliquez sur Pubmed pour voir la liste de mes publications

  • Anand SS, Tu JV, Desai D Anand SS, Tu JV, Desai D, Awadalla P, Robson P, Jacquemon S, Dummer T, Le N, Parker L, Poirier P, Teo T, Lear SA, Yusuf S, Tardif JC, Marcotte F, Busseuil D, Després JP, Black SE, Kirpalani A, Parraga G, Noseworthy MD, Dick A, Leipsic J, Kelton D, Vena J, Thomas M, Schulze KM, Moody AR, Larose E, Smith EE, and Friedrich MG. Cardiovascular Risk Scoring and Magnetic Resonance Imaging Detected Subclinical Cerebrovascular Disease. Eur Heart J: CV Imaging, in press.

  • Hawkins S, Guensch DP, Friedrich MG, Vinco G, Nadeshalingham G, White M, Mongeon FP, Hillier E, Teixeira T, Flewitt JA, Eberle B, Fischer K. Hyperventilation-induced heart rate response as a potential marker for cardiovascular disease. Sci Rep 2019;9(1):17887.

  • Luu J, Schmidt A, Flewitt J, Mikami Y, ter Keurs H, Friedrich MG. Cardiovascular Risk is Associated with a Transmural Gradient of Myocardial Oxygenation During Adenosine Infusion. Eur Heart J: (2019) 20, 1287–1295.

  • Roubille F, Fischer K, Guensch DP, Tardif J-C, Friedrich MG. Impact of hyperventilation and apnea on myocardial oxygenation in patients with obstructive sleep apnea - An oxygenation-sensitive CMR study. Journal of Cardiology. 2017;69:489–494.

  • Fischer K, Guensch D, Shie N, Lebel J, Friedrich MG. Breathing Maneuvers as a Vasoactive Stimulus for Detecting Inducible Myocardial Ischemia - an Experimental Cardiovascular Magnetic Resonance Study. PLoS ONE 2016;11:e0164524.

Breadcrumb

null Matthias Friedrich, MD, FESC, FACC

Investigator, RI-MUHC , Glen site

Cardiovascular Health Across the Lifespan Program

Centre for Innovative Medicine

Professor, Department of Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, McGill University

Department of Medicine, Division of Cardiology, MUHC

 

Keywords


Cardiovascular magnetic resonance • myocardial ischemia • coronary heart disease • acute myocardial infarction • myocarditis

Research Focus


The research activities of the Cardiovascular Magnetic Resonance (CMR) Research Centre at the McGill University Health Centre focus on novel techniques that permit the optimization and simplification of clinical CMR protocols that require minimal interaction and reduce the need for contrast agents or stress protocols. This includes the application of novel CMR image reconstruction techniques, machine learning, automated scanning, and the validation of novel imaging biomarkers in clinical studies. Several current projects explore new options for assessing coronary vascular function, using breathing manoeuvres instead of traditional pharmacological vasodilators or stress protocols as vasoactive triggers. The CMR Research Team aims for new knowledge that can significantly change diagnostic cardiology. The team has access to two clinical MRI scanners (Siemens Skyra 3.0T, GE Artist 1.5T) and full-time access to a dedicated MRI system (GE Premier 3.0T) for CMR research. The most significant support for the research program comes from the Family Courtois Foundation through the McGill University Health Centre Foundation. There is a close collaboration with invasive and non-invasive cardiology, cardiac surgery, and radiology teams. The team also has active collaborations with other hospitals in Montreal, as well as with other academic centres in Canada and worldwide, including cohort research with the Canadian Alliance for Healthy Hearts and Minds.

Selected Publications


Click on Pubmed to see my current publications list

  • Anand SS, Tu JV, Desai D Anand SS, Tu JV, Desai D, Awadalla P, Robson P, Jacquemon S, Dummer T, Le N, Parker L, Poirier P, Teo T, Lear SA, Yusuf S, Tardif JC, Marcotte F, Busseuil D, Després JP, Black SE, Kirpalani A, Parraga G, Noseworthy MD, Dick A, Leipsic J, Kelton D, Vena J, Thomas M, Schulze KM, Moody AR, Larose E, Smith EE, and Friedrich MG. Cardiovascular Risk Scoring and Magnetic Resonance Imaging Detected Subclinical Cerebrovascular Disease. Eur Heart J: CV Imaging, in press.

  • Hawkins S, Guensch DP, Friedrich MG, Vinco G, Nadeshalingham G, White M, Mongeon FP, Hillier E, Teixeira T, Flewitt JA, Eberle B, Fischer K. Hyperventilation-induced heart rate response as a potential marker for cardiovascular disease. Sci Rep 2019;9(1):17887.

  • Luu J, Schmidt A, Flewitt J, Mikami Y, ter Keurs H, Friedrich MG. Cardiovascular Risk is Associated with a Transmural Gradient of Myocardial Oxygenation During Adenosine Infusion. Eur Heart J: (2019) 20, 1287–1295.

  • Roubille F, Fischer K, Guensch DP, Tardif J-C, Friedrich MG. Impact of hyperventilation and apnea on myocardial oxygenation in patients with obstructive sleep apnea - An oxygenation-sensitive CMR study. Journal of Cardiology. 2017;69:489–494.

  • Fischer K, Guensch D, Shie N, Lebel J, Friedrich MG. Breathing Maneuvers as a Vasoactive Stimulus for Detecting Inducible Myocardial Ischemia - an Experimental Cardiovascular Magnetic Resonance Study. PLoS ONE 2016;11:e0164524.