Newsletter - Banner

Fil d'ariane

Agrégateur de contenus

angle-left Maladies respiratoires rares : Combiner l’expertise respiratoire et en immunologie auprès des enfants et adultes
Dr Donald Vinh et Dr Adam Shapiro
Dr Donald Vinh et Dr Adam Shapiro

L’IR-CUSM est l’un des huit centres de recherche participant à un projet financé par les National Institutes of Health pour approfondir notre connaissance des maladies respiratoires suppuratives rares et innover dans le domaine.

20 novembre 2019

Source: CUSM. L’Institut de recherche du Centre universitaire de santé McGill (IR-CUSM) est fier de faire partie du Genetic Disorders of Mucociliary Clearance Consortium (GDMCC), consacré à accélérer la compréhension et le traitement des causes génétiques rares des maladies suppuratives des voies respiratoires, une affection qui provoque chez les patients des pneumonies et des bronchectasies récurrentes (dommages aux voies respiratoires). Le Consortium, qui fait partie du Rare Disease Clinical Research Network (RDCRN), a reçu du National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS) et du National Heart Lung and Blood Institute (NHLBI) une somme d’environ 7,5 millions de dollars américains pour mener au cours des cinq prochaines années des essais cliniques déterminants auprès de patients atteints de maladies pulmonaires rares. Lorsque ces patients développent une infection, l'approche médicale habituelle consiste à administrer des antibiotiques; cependant, il arrive souvent qu'on ne procède pas à une évaluation de la cause sous-jacente de leur état, ce qui empêche un traitement optimal.

« Le CUSM est l’un des deux seuls établissements canadiens — et le seul au Québec — à recevoir cette prestigieuse subvention des NIH », affirme le Dr Adam Shapiro, chercheur du Programme en santé de l’enfant et en développement humain de l’IR-CUSM et pneumologue-pédiatre à l’Hôpital de Montréal pour enfants du CUSM, ainsi que responsable de l’étude à l’IR-CUSM. « Par ailleurs, nous sommes le seul établissement canadien à réunir l’expertise en immunologie et l’expertise respiratoire avec l’expertise pédiatrique et adulte. »

Au cours de ce cycle de subvention, le Consortium travaillera à identifier et à caractériser les immunodéficiences primaires (troubles génétiques du système immunitaire dont les manifestations dans les voies respiratoires supérieures et inférieures s’apparentent à la dyskinésie ciliaire primaire, ou DCP) ainsi que d’autres maladies des voies respiratoires. La DCP est une maladie génétique rare des cils — les structures microscopiques qui balaient les voies respiratoires, les oreilles et les sinus pour les protéger des infections — qui entraîne des maladies chroniques des voies respiratoires, des défauts de latéralité des organes, et l’infertilité.

Le but plus précis de cette étude est de déterminer chez les patients atteints ou soupçonnés d’être atteint de DCP s’il y a présence de mutations génétiques (gènes au développement différent) causant la DCP. Ces patients seront identifiés et recrutés à partir d’une évaluation clinique et en laboratoire.

« Il se trouve que certains de ces patients n’ont pas de DPC, mais plutôt une immunodéficience génétique rare qui cause des pneumonies et des bronchectasies récurrentes », explique le Dr Donald Vinh, scientifique du Programme en maladies infectieuses et immunité en santé mondiale au IR-CUSM, médecin en maladies infectieuses et microbiologie au CUSM et co-chercheur de l’étude à l’IR-CUSM. « Grâce à cette étude, ces patients bénéficieront de tests génétiques complets pour ces types de maladies rares du poumon et du système immunitaire. On ne les considérera plus comme un “mystère clinique” », dit le Dr Vinh.

« Les personnes atteintes de DCP n’arrivent pas à dégager convenablement le mucus de leurs poumons, ce qui entraîne de nombreuses infections bronchiques. Mais parce que les symptômes de la DCP s’apparentent à ceux de plusieurs maladies pulmonaires courantes, la maladie est extrêmement difficile à diagnostiquer et passe souvent inaperçue », explique le Dr Shapiro, qui travaille depuis cinq ans avec le Consortium pour établir des critères de diagnostic. « Jusqu’à présent, nous avons identifié 44 gènes différents qui causent ceci. »

« Au CUSM, nous avons pu diagnostiquer l’un des plus importants nombres de patients atteints de DCP au monde », affirme le Dr Shapiro, dont les tests diagnostiques de pointe incluent des analyses phénotypiques et génotypiques. « Nous détenons aussi l’une des seules machines au Canada qui peut mesurer de façon non invasive l’oxyde nitrique nasal, un gaz évacué par le nez et dont la présence s’avère très faible chez les patients atteints de DCP. »

À l’heure actuelle, la plupart des médecins ne disposent pas des moyens pour étudier la cause des maladies pulmonaires chez leurs patients. C’est pourquoi de plus en plus de pneumologues et d’immunologistes de partout au Canada confient leurs patients au Dr Shapiro lorsqu’ils soupçonnent un cas de DCP, tant chez un enfant que chez un adulte. Quand la probabilité d’une DCP semble faible, le Dr Vinh vérifie la présence d’un déficit immunitaire, et vice versa. Le Dr Reza Alizadehfar, chercheur secondaire dans cette étude, veille à combler le fossé entre la médecine adulte et pédiatrique en offrant des consultations en immunologie à l’Hôpital de Montréal pour enfants et à l’Hôpital général de Montréal du CUSM.

« Adam, Reza et moi travaillons en étroite collaboration. Nous voulons accueillir tous ces orphelins médicaux qui viennent à nous avec des problèmes respiratoires rares, pour pouvoir décrire leurs symptômes de manière scientifique et examiner la génétique des déficiences immunitaires », explique le Dr Vinh.

La génétique ouvre le champ à la médecine personnalisée et au développement de nouvelles thérapies géniques ciblées. Grâce à elle, il est possible de déterminer quels membres d’une famille sont à risque, et, suite à d’autres études, des mesures préventives pour les nouveau-nés pourraient être proposées.

Selon les deux scientifiques, qui sont aussi professeurs agrégés à l’Université McGill, « pour toutes ces raisons, la génétique est la voie à suivre. »

« Tout cela est très emballant et donne beaucoup d’espoir à nos patients, dit le Dr Shapiro. Il s’agit là de recherche véritablement axée sur le patient, et intégrée aux soins cliniques. »


À propos du Genetic Disorders of Mucociliary Clearance Consortium

Le Consortium est composé de huit centres de recherche principaux. Ceux-ci travaillent en partenariat avec des organisations de défense des droits des patients, telles que la PCD Foundation, la Immune Deficiency Foundation et la Jeffrey Modell Foundation. Outre les chercheurs principaux du GDMCC, les Drs Stephanie Davis et Thomas Ferkol, les chercheurs des autres centres incluent les Drs Margaret Leigh et Michael Knowles (Université de Caroline du Nord à Chapel Hill), Dr Scott Sagel (The Children’s Hospital Colorado), Dr. Margaret Rosenfeld (Seattle Children’s Hospital), Dr Adam Shapiro (Centre universitaire de santé McGill, Montréal, Canada), Dr Sharon Dell (The Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto, Canada), Dr Carlos Milla (Stanford University Medical Center) et Dr Kenneth Olivier (NHLBI, Bethesda, MD).

Le Genetic Disorders of Mucociliary Clearance Consortium est soutenu par la subvention des NCATS/NHLBI 2U54HL096458.

Visitez le site du GDMCC pour plus de détails :
https://www.rarediseasesnetwork.org/cms/gdmcc

Newsletter - Banner

Breadcrumb

Asset Publisher

angle-left Rare respiratory diseases: Combining immunology and respiratory expertise for children and adults
Dr. Donald Vinh and Dr. Adam Shapiro
Dr. Donald Vinh and Dr. Adam Shapiro

The RI-MUHC is one of eight research centres participating in an NIH-funded project to accelerate the understanding of rare suppurative respiratory diseases and innovate in the field.

November 20, 2019

Source: MUHC. The Research Institute of the McGill University Health Centre (RI-MUHC) is a proud member of the Genetic Disorders of Mucociliary Clearance Consortium (GDMCC), which is dedicated to advance understanding and treatment of rare genetic causes of suppurative airway disease, a condition that causes patients to have recurrent pneumonias and bronchiectasis (damaged airways). The Consortium, which is part of the Rare Disease Clinical Research Network (RDCRN), was awarded approximately $7.5 million US by the National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS) and the National Heart Lung and Blood Institute (NHLBI) over the next 5 years to bring meaningful clinical trials to patient populations with rare lung diseases. When these patients develop an infection, the usual medical approach is to give antibiotics; however, an evaluation for the underlying cause of their condition is often not pursued, preventing optimal therapy.

“The MUHC is one of the only two Canadian sites – and the only one in Quebec – that will benefit from this prestigious NIH grant,” says Dr. Adam Shapiro, investigator in the RI-MUHC Child Health and Human Development Program and Pediatric Respirologist at the Montreal Children’s Hospital of the MUHC, as well as the MUHC site leader of this study. “Furthermore, we are the only Canadian site that combines immunology and respiratory expertise, as well as pediatric and adult expertise.”

In this grant cycle, the Consortium will identify and characterize primary immunodeficiencies, which are genetic disorders of the immune system and can often have upper and lower respiratory manifestations that resemble primary ciliary dyskinesia (PCD), and other airway diseases. PCD is a rare genetic disease of the cilia – microscopic structures that sweep the airways, ears and sinuses to keep them free from infection. It leads to chronic respiratory tract disease, left-right organ laterality defects and infertility.

Specifically, the purpose of this research study is to test patients with known or suspected (possible) PCD for genetic mutations (genes that develop differently) that cause PCD. These patients will be identified and enrolled by clinical and lab evaluation.

“Some of these patients don’t actually have PCD, but a rare genetic immunodeficiency that causes recurrent pneumonias and bronchiectasis,” says Dr. Donald Vinh, scientist in the Infectious Diseases and Immunity in Global Health Program at the RI-MUHC, physician in Infectious Diseases and Microbiology at the MUHC, and site co-investigator for this study. “This research will allow patients to get full genetic testing for these types of rare diseases of the lung and of their immune system. They will no longer be considered a ‘clinical mystery’,” says Dr. Vinh.

“People with PCD cannot effectively get mucus out of their lungs, which leads to many bronchial infections. But because PCD symptoms look like a number of other common lung disease, the disease often goes unnoticed and is extremely difficult to diagnose,” explains Dr. Shapiro, who has worked with the Consortium for the last 5 years pioneering the diagnostic criteria. “So far, we found 44 different genes that cause this.”

“Here at the MUHC, we have diagnosed one of the largest PCD patient populations in the world,” says Dr. Shapiro, who provides state-of- the-art diagnostic testing, with phenotype and genotype testing. “We also have one of the only machines in Canada that can perform a non-invasive test to measure a special gas coming out the nose called nasal nitric oxide, which is very low in PCD patients.”

At the moment, most doctors don’t have the means to investigate the cause of lung disease in their patients. And that is why more and more respirologists and immunologists from all over Canada refer their patients to Dr. Shapiro when they suspect a case of PCD - in a child as well as in an adult. When the possibility of PCD seems unlikely, Dr. Vinh checks for the presence of an immune deficiency, and vice versa. Dr. Reza Alizadehfar, a sub-investigator in this research, also bridges the gap between adult and pediatric medicine, offering immunology consultations at both the Montreal Children’s Hospital and the Montreal General Hospital of the MUHC./p>

“Adam, Reza, and I work in close collaboration, and we want to see all these medical orphans who come to us with these respiratory problems so we can describe their symptoms in scientific terms, and to look at the genetics of immune deficiencies,” says Dr. Vinh.

Genetics open the door to personalized medicine and the development of new gene specific targeted therapies. In addition, genetics can be used to see who is at risk in a family, and with further studies, it could lead to preventive measures being offered to newborns.

“Genetics is the way to go for all these reasons,” say the scientists, who are both Associate Professors at McGill University.

“This is very exciting and it brings a lot of hope for our patients,” adds Dr. Shapiro. “This is real patient-oriented research. It’s research that is part of the clinical care.”


About the Genetic Disorders of Mucociliary Clearance Consortium

The Consortium consists of eight main research centres, working in close partnership with patient advocacy organizations, like the PCD Foundation, Immune Deficiency Foundation and Jeffrey Modell Foundation. In addition to Dr. Stephanie Davis and Dr. Thomas Ferkol (GDMCC Principle Investigators), other site investigators include Dr. Margaret Leigh and Dr. Michael Knowles (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), Dr. Scott Sagel (The Children’s Hospital Colorado), Dr. Margaret Rosenfeld (Seattle Children’s Hospital), Dr. Adam Shapiro (McGill University Health Centre, Montréal, Canada), Dr. Sharon Dell (The Hospital for Sick Children, Toronto, Canada), Dr. Carlos Milla (Stanford University Medical Center), and Dr. Kenneth Olivier (NHLBI, Bethesda, MD).

The Genetic Disorders of Mucociliary Clearance Consortium is supported by theNCATS/NHLBI grant 2U54HL096458.

Visit the GDMCC website at https://www.rarediseasesnetwork.org/cms/gdmcc for more details.