Fil d'ariane

Agrégateur de contenus

angle-left Barry Posner, OC, CQ, M.D., FRSC, FRCPC, FACP

Chercheur associé, IR-CUSM, site Glen

Programme de recherche en désordres métaboliques et leurs complications

Centre de biologie translationnelle

 

Mots-clés


Receptor • cell signaling • endosomes • tyrosine kinase • phosphotyrosine phosphatase

Aire de recherche


Mon groupe étudie la distribution des récepteurs d’hormone peptidique dans les tissus, incluant dans le système nerveux central (SNC). Nous nous sommes également penchés sur les mécanismes de la signalisation cellulaire par l’insuline et les facteurs de croissance, spécifiquement les facteurs de croissance similaires à l’insuline et de facteur de croissance épidermique (FCE). Dans le but de comprendre la physiologie et la pathologie qui en résulte, nous avons mis l’accent sur l’étude de la signalisation cellulaire dans les tissus normaux dans des cellules cultivées (hépatocytes) et in vivo (foie intact). Nous croyons que cette approche est essentielle pour définir les voies physiologiques autrement modifiées dans les cellules malades. Nous avons récemment découvert le rôle de l’internalisation et des complexes ligands-récepteurs dans les endosomes, la délimitation du rôle clé des phosphatases phosphotyrosines dans la fonction de régularisation du récepteur de tyrosine kinase (notamment cette de la kinase du récepteur d’insuline) dans les endosomes, et l’identification de nouvelles molécules dans les voies d’insuline et de signalisation d’EGF, y compris IRS3, Gab2 et SHPTP1.

Publications choisies


Cliquez sur Pubmed pour voir la liste de mes publications

  • Posner, B.I. Insulin Signaling – The Inside Story. Can.Journal of Diabetes 41: 108-114, 201. doi: 10.1016/j.jcjd.2016.07.002. PMID: 27614806.

  • Posner, B.I., R. Faure, J.W. Burgess, A.P. Bevan, D. Lachance, G. Zhang-Sun, I.G. Fantus, J.B. Ng, D.A. Hall, B. Soo Lum, and A. Shaver. Peroxovanadium Compounds: A new class of potent phosphotyrosine phosphatase inhibitors which are insulin mimetic. J. Biol. Chem. 269: 4596-4604, 1994. PMID: 8308031.

  • Shen, S.H., L. Bastien, B.I. Posner and P. Chretien. A protein tyrosine phosphatase with sequence similarity to the SH2 domain of the protein tyrosine kinases. Nature 352: 736-739, 1991. DOI: 10.1038/352736a0. PMID: 1652101.

  • Tannenbaum, G.S., H.J. Guyda and B.I. Posner. Insulin-like growth factors: A role in growth hormone negative feedback and body weight regulation via the brain. Science 220: 77-79, 1983. DOI: 10.1126/science.6338593. PMID: 6338593.

  • Van Houten, M., B.I. Posner, B.M. Kopriwa and J.R. Brawer. Insulin binding sites localized to nerve terminals in rat median eminence and arcuate nucleus. Science 207: 1081-1083, 1980. DOI: 10.1126/science.6986652. PMID: 6986652.

Breadcrumb

Researcher List - Sidebar Search Title

RESEARCHER PROFILES

Quick Search

ri-custom-search Portlet

Asset Publisher

angle-left Barry Posner, OC, CQ, MD, FRSC, FRCPC, FACP

Associate Investigator, RI-MUHC , Glen site

Metabolic Disorders and Complications Program

Centre for Translational Biology

 

Keywords


Receptor • cell signaling • endosomes • tyrosine kinase • phosphotyrosine phosphatase

Research Focus


My group has studied peptide hormone receptor distribution in tissues, including in the central nervous system (CNS). We have also focused on the mechanisms of cell signaling by insulin and growth factors, especially the insulin-like growth factors and epidermal growth factor (EGF). In our effort to understand physiology and resultant pathology, we have emphasized the study of cell signaling in normal tissues—both in cultured cells (hepatocytes) and in vivo (intact liver). We believed this approach was essential in order to define physiological pathways that are otherwise altered in diseased cells. Of note was our discovery of the role of internalization of ligand-receptor complexes into endosomes (ENs), the delineation of a key role for phosphotyrosine phosphatases in regulating receptor tyrosine kinase function (notably that of the insulin receptor kinase) within ENs, and the identification of new molecules in the pathway of insulin and EGF signaling, including IRS3, Gab2, and SHPTP1.

Selected Publications


Click on Pubmed to see my current publications list

  • Posner, B.I. Insulin Signaling – The Inside Story. Can.Journal of Diabetes 41: 108-114, 201. doi: 10.1016/j.jcjd.2016.07.002. PMID: 27614806.

  • Posner, B.I., R. Faure, J.W. Burgess, A.P. Bevan, D. Lachance, G. Zhang-Sun, I.G. Fantus, J.B. Ng, D.A. Hall, B. Soo Lum, and A. Shaver. Peroxovanadium Compounds: A new class of potent phosphotyrosine phosphatase inhibitors which are insulin mimetic. J. Biol. Chem. 269: 4596-4604, 1994. PMID: 8308031.

  • Shen, S.H., L. Bastien, B.I. Posner and P. Chretien. A protein tyrosine phosphatase with sequence similarity to the SH2 domain of the protein tyrosine kinases. Nature 352: 736-739, 1991. DOI: 10.1038/352736a0. PMID: 1652101.

  • Tannenbaum, G.S., H.J. Guyda and B.I. Posner. Insulin-like growth factors: A role in growth hormone negative feedback and body weight regulation via the brain. Science 220: 77-79, 1983. DOI: 10.1126/science.6338593. PMID: 6338593.

  • Van Houten, M., B.I. Posner, B.M. Kopriwa and J.R. Brawer. Insulin binding sites localized to nerve terminals in rat median eminence and arcuate nucleus. Science 207: 1081-1083, 1980. DOI: 10.1126/science.6986652. PMID: 6986652.