Rechercher par ordre alphabétique

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Retour

Shafaat Rabbani, M.D.

Scientifique senior, IR-CUSM, site Glen

Programme de recherche en désordres métaboliques et leurs complications

Professeur, Département de médecine, Division d'endocrinologie, Faculté de médecine, Université McGill

 

Mots-clés


cancer • os • métastase • épigénétique • méthylation de l'ADN

Aire de recherche


Ma recherche porte sur l'identification de l'étendue de la méthylation de l'ADN à l'aide du sang de patients atteints du cancer du sein et d'ostéoporose. Les « signatures de la méthylation de l'ADN » seront personnalisées comme biomarqueurs non effractifs. Elles seront ensuite introduites dans la pratique clinique et changeront la façon dont nous prédisons, diagnostiquons les thérapies et suivons la progression de la maladie. Nous évaluons les nouvelles approches thérapeutiques et préventives des métastases du cancer du sein basées sur le blocage des processus de déméthylation de l'ADN à l'aide de modèles de xénotransplantation et de modèles transgénique du cancer du sein. Collectivement, les résultats de ces études fourniront une base moléculaire mécaniste pour la prévention et le traitement du cancer du sein et seront transférés dans les essais cliniques humains. Notre groupe développe présentement de nouvelles stratégies diagnostiques et thérapeutiques afin de bloquer la production d'activateurs du plasminogène de type urokinase (uPA) et son interaction avec les surfaces cellulaire uPAR afin d'interrompre la croissance des tumeurs et des métastases. À l'aide de nos modèles établis de cancer du sein et de la prostate, nous examinons l'efficacité de plusieurs stratégies thérapeutiques dans le but de bloquer la progression de tumeurs. De plus, la détermination de la méthylation de l'uPA et du PAI-1 sont en développement en tant que marqueurs diagnostiques et pronostiques du cancer.

Publications choisies


Cliquez sur Pubmed pour voir la liste de mes publications

  • Parashar S, Cheishvili D, Arakelian A, Hussain Z, Tanvir I, Khan HA, Szyf M, Rabbani SA. S-adenosylmethionine blocks osteosarcoma cells proliferation and invasion in vitro and tumor metastasis in vivo: therapeutic and diagnostic clinical applications. Cancer Med. 2015 May; 4(5):732-44. PMID: 25619880.

  • Shukeir, N, Stefanska B, Parashar S, Chik F, Arakelian A, Szyf M, Rabbani SA. Pharmacological methyl group donors block skeletal metastasis in vitro and in vivo. Br J Pharmacol. 2015 June; 172(11):2769-81. PMID: 25631332.

  • Rabbani SA, Arakelian A, Farooki R. LRP5 knockdown; effect on prostate cancer invasion growth and skeletal metastasis in vitro and in vivo. Cancer Medicine, 2:625-635, 2013. PMID: 24403228.

  • Rabbani SA, Ateeq B, Arakelian A, Valentino ML, Shaw DE, Dauffenbach LM, Kerfoot CA, Mazar A. An anti-urokinase plasminogen activator receptor antibody (ATN-658) blocks prostate cancer invasion, migration, growth and experimental skeletal metastasis in vitro and in vivo. Neoplasia 10:778-788, 2010. PMID: 20927316.

  • Rabbani, S.A., Valentino, M.L., Arakelian, A., Ali, S., Boschelli, F. SKI-606 (Bosutinib) blocks prostate cancer invasion, growth and metastasis in vitro and in vivo via regulation of genes involved in cancer growth and skeletal metastasis. Molecular Cancer Therapy, 9(5):1147-57, 2010. PMID: 20423991.

Asset Publisher

angle-left Shafaat Rabbani, MD

Senior Scientist, RI-MUHC , Glen site

Metabolic Disorders and Complications Program

Centre for Translational Biology

Professor, Department of Medicine, Faculty of Medicine, McGill University

 

Keywords


Breast and prostate cancer • DNA methylation • proteases and growth factors • bone metastasis • cancer progression • epigentic biomarkers • cancer therapeutics

Research Focus


My research focuses on determining the blood-based “DNA methylation signature” of patients with breast cancer, prostate cancer or osteoporosis, for introduction into clinical practice. We are evaluating a novel therapeutic and preventive approach to breast cancer metastasis based on blocking DNA demethylation processes using xenograft and transgenic models. Collectively, the results from these studies will provide a molecular mechanistic basis for both prevention and treatment of breast cancer that will be translated into human clinical trials. Our group is developing novel diagnostic and therapeutic strategies to block uPA production and its interaction with cell surface uPAR to block tumour growth and metastasis. Using our well-established models of breast and prostate cancer, we are examining the efficacy of various therapeutic strategies to block tumour progression. Additionally, determination of the methylation of uPA and PAI-1 is being developed as a reliable diagnostic and prognostic marker in cancer.

Selected Publications


Click on Pubmed to see my current publications list

  • Cheishvili D, Parashar S, Mahmood N, Arakelian A, Kremer R, Goltzman D, Szyf M, Rabbani SA. Identification of an Epigenetic Signature of Osteoporosis in Blood DNA of Postmenopausal Women. J Bone Miner Res. 2018 Nov;33(11):1980-1989. doi: 10.1002/jbmr.3527. Epub 2018 Jul 20. PMID: 29924424.

  • Parashar S, Cheishvili D, Mahmood N, Arakelian A, Tanvir I, Khan HA, Kremer R, Mihalcioiu C, Szyf M, Rabbani SA. DNA methylation signatures of breast cancer in peripheral T-cells. BMC Cancer. 2018 May 18;18(1):574. doi: 10.1186/s12885-018-4482-7. PMID: 29776342.

  • Mahmood N, Cheishvili D, Arakelian A, Tanvir I, Khan HA, Pépin AS, Szyf M, Rabbani SA. Methyl donor S-adenosylmethionine (SAM) supplementation attenuates breast cancer growth, invasion, and metastasis in vivo; therapeutic and chemopreventive applications. Oncotarget. 2017 Dec 26;9(4):5169-5183. doi: 10.18632/oncotarget.23704. eCollection 2018 Jan 12. PMID: 29435170.

  • Parashar S, Cheishvili D, Arakelian A, Hussain Z, Tanvir I, Khan HA, Szyf M, Rabbani SA. S-adenosylmethionine blocks osteosarcoma cells proliferation and invasion in vitro and tumor metastasis in vivo: therapeutic and diagnostic clinical applications. Cancer Med. 2015 May;4(5):732-44. doi: 10.1002/cam4.386. Epub 2015 Jan 26. PMID: 25619880.

  • Shukeir N, Stefanska B, Parashar S, Chik F, Arakelian A, Szyf M, Rabbani SA. Pharmacological methyl group donors block skeletal metastasis in vitro and in vivo. Br J Pharmacol. 2015 Jun;172(11):2769-81. doi: 10.1111/bph.13102. Epub 2015 Mar 27. PMID: 25631332.