null Honours and awards published April 23, 2019

Congratulations to each of the following RI-MUHC investigators!

Alan Barkun, who received a Visiting Clinical Professorship Award from the Canadian Association of Gastroenterology and was named Gene and Lyn Overhold Lecturer by the American Society for Gastrointestinal Endoscopy. Learn more

Marcel Behr, elected a fellow of the American Academy of Microbiology, the honorific leadership group within the American Society for Microbiology. Learn more

Lorenzo Ferri, Morag Park and Veena Sangwan, part of a multinational team that received a $34 million Grand Challenge grant from Cancer Research UK to combat cancer linked with inflammation. Learn more

Lucy Gilbert and Kris Jardon, whose work in cancer research with MUHC colleague Xing Zeng won the Discovery of the Year 2018 People's Choice Award from Québec Science magazine. Learn more

Sabah Hussain and Ernest Seidman, both awarded the Distinguished James McGill Professorship by McGill University. 

Bartha Knoppers, awarded the Henry G. Friesen International Prize in Health Research by the Friends of Canadian Institutes of Health Research (FCIHR). Learn more

Thomas Maniatis, nominated Chair of the Royal College Specialty Committee in Internal Medicine. This committee is the national body that oversees post-graduate specialty training in Internal Medicine across Canada. Learn more

Dick Menzies, who received the 2019 Distinguished Lecturer Award in Respiratory Sciences from the Institute of Circulatory and Respiratory Health (ICRH) of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) and the Canadian Thoracis Society (CTS). Learn more

Madhukar Pai, who received the Principal’s Prize for Engagement through Media in the academic category from McGill University for helping to focus global attention on tuberculosis. Learn more

—published April 23, 2019

Please send your news for this page to