Women's Health - DOvEEgene banner

Women's Health - DOvEEgene

DOvEEgene: Developing and Validating a Novel Molecular Screening Test for the Early Diagnosis of Cancer of the Endometrium, Tubes and Ovaries (DOvEEgene)
 
This study is currently recruiting participants. 
 
Sponsor:
McGill University
 
Collaborators:
McGill University Health Centre
McGill University Genome Quebec Innovation Centre
Johns Hopkins University
Jewish General Hospital
 
ClinicalTrials.gov Identifier: NCT02288676
Other Study ID Numbers: A08-M79-13B
 
Purpose
This study will determine whether a genetic test of Pap samples taken from the uterus is capable of detecting ovarian and endometrial cancers.
 
Condition

Ovarian Neoplasms
Endometrial Neoplasms
Endometrial Cancer
Ovarian Cancer
Screening
Safety
Reduced Mortality
Reduced Morbidity
Early Diagnosis


Study Type: Observational
Study Design: Observational Model: Case-Control
Time Perspective: Cross-Sectional
Official Title: DOvEEgene: Developing and Validating a Novel Molecular Screening Test for the Early Diagnosis of Cancer of the Endometrium, Tubes and Ovaries
 
Primary Outcome Measures:
Detection of cancer-related mutations: Diagnosis of ovarian and endometrial cancers by detection of cancer-related mutations in uterine pap samples using genomics and machine learning to insure high sensitivity and specificity of the test.
 
Secondary Outcome Measures:
 Evaluation of patient related outcomes including pain and acceptability: Pain scores reported by participants on numeric pain and discomfort scale (NPS). Patients’ attitude towards the test including willingness to have it done on an annual basis will be evaluated.
 
 Evaluation of risks associated with the DOvEEgene test: Evaluate all risks associated with the DOvEEgene test including complications from sampling techniqus as well as unnecessary interventions from results of a false positive test.
 
 Assess feasibility of performing endometrial sample by clinicians: The ease of performing the endometrial sampling will be evaluated by clinician feedback in order to assess, and modify if needed.
 
Estimated Enrollment: 1200
Study Start Date: January 2014
Estimated Study Completion Date: December 2020
Estimated Primary Completion Date: December 2019 (Final data collection date for primary outcome measure)
 
Groups/Cohorts
Cancer Case Group
Participants must have suspected or confirmed upper genital tract cancer (uterine, tubal and ovarian) and must be scheduled to undergo surgery for tumor removal.
Control Group
Participants must not be under investigation for any pre-cancerous or cancerous lesions of the genital tract, and must be scheduled for a hysterectomy, bilateral salpingectomy with/without bilateral oopherectomy for presumed benign condition.
 
 
Detailed Description:
The vast majority of deaths from ovarian cancer are from the high-grade serous cancer (HGSC) subtypes. The currently available tests for ovarian cancer diagnosis such as, blood tumour marker CA-125 and transvaginal ultrasound scan of the ovaries, have poor sensitivity and specificity therefore are not suitable for diagnosing early disease. Indeed, results from screening trials suggest that testing women in the general population for ovarian cancer may do more harm than good, due to the high proportion of false positive results.

Accumulating evidence suggests that a high proportion of HGSC of the "ovary" actually starts in the fallopian tube. The cancerous cells from the tube can escape into the uterus and eventually into the cervix. Furthermore, the cancer present as a microscopic lesion in the tube is capable of spreading to the ovary and abdomen.

As for endometrial cancer, the disease is increasing in incidence. Approximately, 10% of women with endometrial cancers with high-grade subtypes account for almost half the deaths of patients with an endometrial cancer diagnosis as a result of early spread. Combined, cancers from the uterus, tubes and ovaries account for the 3rd most common cause of death from cancer in high resource countries.

Thus, a screening tool for cancers of the uterus, tubes and ovaries would greatly benefit women. Seminal work has shown it is possible to identify a few cancer cells among the thousands of normal cells, in cytology samples. More specifically, those collected from the uterus, with an endometrial sampling tool using innovative methods of DNA tagging.

We have developed our own technology for DNA barcoding. Additionally, we have also evaluated different methods of sample collection to determine which is the most acceptable to women and their doctors, while still yielding the highest number of abnormal cells.

Our preliminary results indicate a brush sample taken from inside the uterus yields the best proportion of cancer cells with respect to both ovarian/tubal cancers, as well as, uterine cancer. The objective of this project is to develop, by building on this discovery, a test that can be used as a screening tool to detect cancer of the endometrium, ovary and tubes, in its very early stages. We are enrolling women with known or suspected cancer of the ovary or endometrium, as well as women scheduled to undergo hysterectomy and salpingectomy +/- oophorectomy for a variety of benign reasons to serve as controls.

We will develop, refine the technology and validate a screening test, DOvEEgene, that is specific and safe to screen women in order to diagnose cancer of the uterus, tubes and ovaries early enough to save lives.
 
Eligibility
 
Ages Eligible for Study: 18 Years and older   (Adult, Senior)
Sexes Eligible for Study: Female
Accepts Healthy Volunteers: No
Sampling Method: Non-Probability Sample
 
Study Population
The participating hospitals run multiple weekly routine gynecology and gynecologic oncology clinics. The Cases include women scheduled to undergo surgery for tumor removal, for either proven or suspected upper genital tract cancer. The Controls include women scheduled to have a hysterectomy, bilateral salpingectomy (removal of the fallopian tubes) with/without bilateral oophorectomy (removal of the ovaries) to treat benign conditions.
 
Criteria
Case Inclusion:
Subjects should have suspected or confirmed cancer of the upper genital tract.
Participant will undergo surgery for tumour removal.
Control inclusion:
• Subjects should be scheduled to have a hysterectomy, bilateral salpingectomy, with or without bilateral oophorectomy, for presumed benign disease.

Contacts and Locations
Choosing to participate in a study is an important personal decision. Talk with your doctor and family members or friends about deciding to join a study. To learn more about this study, you or your doctor may contact the study research staff using the Contacts provided below. 
 
Contacts
 
Contact: Dr. Lucy Gilbert, MD, MSc, FRCOG 514-934-1934 ext. 34049, lucy.gilbert@mcgill.ca
 
Contact: Dr. Claudia Martins, PhD, 514-934-1934 ext. 36794, claudia.martins@mcgill.ca
 
Locations
 
Canada, Quebec

Jewish General Hospital Recruiting
Montreal, Quebec, Canada, H3T 1E2
Contact: Shannon Salvador, MD, 514-340-8222 ext. 3144, shannon.salvador@mcgill.ca
 
Royal Victoria Hospital (Glen Site) Recruiting
Montreal, Quebec, Canada, H4A 3J1
Contact: Dr. Lucy Gilbert, MD,MSc,FRCOG, 514-934-1934 ext. 34049, lucy.gilbert@mcgill.ca
 
Contact: Dr. Claudia Martins, PhD, 514-934-1934 ext. 36794, claudia.martins@mcgill.ca
 
Sponsors and Collaborators:
McGill University
McGill University Health Centre
McGill University Genome Quebec Innovation Centre
Johns Hopkins University
Jewish General Hospital

Investigators
 
Principal Investigator: Dr. Lucy Gilbert, MD,MSc,FRCOG Professor, McGill University
Co-Investigator: Ioannis Ragoussis, PhD, McGill University Genome Quebec Innovation Centre
 
More Information
 
Publications:
Gilbert L, Basso O, Sampalis J, Karp I, Martins C, Feng J, Piedimonte S, Quintal L, Ramanakumar AV, Takefman J, Grigorie MS, Artho G, Krishnamurthy S; DOvE Study Group.. Assessment of symptomatic women for early diagnosis of ovarian cancer: results from the prospective DOvE pilot project. Lancet Oncol. 2012 Mar;13(3):285-91. doi: 10.1016/S1470-2045(11)70333-3.
Kinde I, Bettegowda C, Wang Y, Wu J, Agrawal N, Shih IeM, Kurman R, Dao F, Levine DA, Giuntoli R, Roden R, Eshleman JR, Carvalho JP, Marie SK, Papadopoulos N, Kinzler KW, Vogelstein B, Diaz LA Jr. Evaluation of DNA from the Papanicolaou test to detect ovarian and endometrial cancers. Sci Transl Med. 2013 Jan 9;5(167):167ra4. doi: 10.1126/scitranslmed.3004952.

Women's Health - DOvEEgene banner

Santé de la femme - DOvEEgene

DOvEEgene : Développement et validation d’un nouveau test moléculaire pour le dépistage précoce des cancers de l'endomètre, des trompes de Fallope et de l’ovaire (DOvEEgene)

Nous recrutons actuellement des participantes pour cette étude.

Promoteur:
Université McGill

Collaborateurs:
Centre universitaire de santé McGill (CUSM)
Génome Québec
Université Johns Hopkins 
Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM)
Hôpital général juif

ClinicalTrials.gov Identifier (numéro de protocole): NCT02288676

Other Study ID Numbers (autres numéros d’identification des essais) : A08-M79-13B

 

Objectif
La présente étude vise à déterminer si un test génétique effectué sur des échantillons de cellules prélevés aux fins du test Pap détecte les cancers de l’ovaire et de l’endomètre.

Conditions

Néoplasmes de l’ovaire
Néoplasmes de l’endomètre
Cancer de l’endomètre
Cancer de l’ovaire
Dépistage
Sécurité
Réduction du taux de mortalité
Réduction du taux de morbidité
Diagnostic précoce

 

Type d’étude :    Observationnelle
Conception de l’étude :    Modèle observationnel : Cas témoins
Perspective temporelle : Étude transversale
Titre officiel :    DOvEEgene : Développement et validation d’un nouveau test moléculaire pour le dépistage précoce des cancers de l’endomètre, des trompes de Fallope et de l’ovaire
Précisions complémentaires sur l’étude

Évaluation des résultats primaires :
•    Détection des mutations liées au cancer [Cadre temporel : en moyenne, 18 mois après la consultation]
Ce résultat nous permettra de déterminer quelles méthodes d’échantillonnage identifient le mieux la présence/l’absence de mutations liées au cancer.

Évaluation des résultats secondaires :
•    Cotations des douleurs, rapportées par les participantes sur l’échelle visuelle analogue [Cadre temporel : pendant la consultation, au cours d’une période d’une vingtaine de minutes en moyenne]
Tout de suite après chaque prélèvement, les participantes seront priées de coter leur douleur sur l’échelle visuelle analogue.

•    Les cotations d’inconfort, rapportées par les participantes sur l’échelle visuelle analogue [Cadre temporel : pendant la consultation, au cours d’une période d’une vingtaine de minutes en moyenne]
Tout de suite après chaque prélèvement, les participantes seront priées de coter leur inconfort sur l’échelle visuelle analogue.

•    Acceptabilité des méthodes, rapportée par les participantes [Cadre temporel : pendant la consultation, au cours d’une période d’une vingtaine de minutes en moyenne]
Les participantes se feront demander si elles veulent ‒ à titre hypothétique ‒ subir annuellement un examen comme un test de dépistage, si un tel examen devait s’avérer utile.

Nombre estimatif de participantes :    280
Date du début de l’étude :    Janvier 2014
Date prévue pour l’achèvement de l’étude :    Décembre 2020
Date prévue pour l’achèvement de la première période:    Décembre 2019 (fin de la collecte des données en vue de l’évaluation des résultats primaires)

Groupes/Cohortes
Groupe des cas de personnes atteintes du cancer
Les participantes doivent être soupçonnées d’avoir un cancer des voies génitales supérieures (utérus, trompes ou ovaire) ou doivent avoir reçu un diagnostic de ce type de cancer, et une chirurgie visant l’ablation de la tumeur doit avoir été prévue.
Groupe témoin
Les participantes ne doivent pas faire l’objet d’une investigation visant à déceler des lésions précancéreuses ou cancéreuses des voies génitales; une hystérectomie, une salpingectomie bilatérale avec/ou sans ovariectomie bilatérale liée à une condition supposément bénigne doit être prévue. 

 

Description détaillée
La grande majorité des décès attribuables au cancer de l’ovaire sont liés à des sous-types de cancers graves de haut grade. Les tests actuellement disponibles pour le diagnostic du cancer de l’ovaire, comme le marqueur tumoral 125 (CA 125), l’échographie vaginale permettant de voir les ovaires, sont peu sensibles et peu précis; ils ne conviennent par conséquent pas au diagnostic précoce de la maladie. En effet, des résultats des essais en vue du dépistage laissent entendre qu’il est possible que le fait de faire subir des examens à l’ensemble des femmes pour dépister le cancer des ovaires pourrait s’avérer plus néfaste que souhaitable, compte tenu du pourcentage élevé de résultats faux positifs.
Des éléments probants de plus en plus nombreux nous amènent à croire qu’un pourcentage élevé de cancers graves de haut grade de « l’ovaire » se développent en fait dans la trompe de Fallope. Les cellules cancéreuses de la trompe peuvent migrer vers l’utérus et finalement se retrouver dans le col de l’utérus. De plus, des cellules cancéreuses présentes dans la trompe sous forme de lésion microscopique peuvent se répandre dans l’ovaire et dans l’abdomen.
Pour ce qui est du cancer de l’endomètre, l’incidence de cette maladie est en croissance. Environ dix pour cent des cancers de l’endomètre liés à des sous-types de cancer à haut grade comptent pour près de la moitié des décès des patientes ayant reçu un diagnostic de cancer de l’endomètre, en raison de la propagation des cellules cancéreuses à un stade précoce.
Mis ensemble, les cancers de l’utérus, des trompes de Fallope et de l’ovaire se classent au troisième rang des causes de décès les plus courantes attribuables au cancer dans les pays riches.
Les femmes bénéficieraient par conséquent grandement d’un outil de dépistage des cancers de l’utérus, des trompes de Fallope et de l’ovaire. Des travaux précurseurs ont démontré qu’il est possible d’identifier quelques cellules cancéreuses parmi les milliers de cellules normales dans des échantillons cytologiques. Plus particulièrement, ces observations ont été faites lors du prélèvement de cellules effectué sur l’utérus, sur le col de l’utérus et sur le vagin grâce à diverses techniques de prélèvement ayant recours à des méthodes novatrices de marquage de l’ADN.
Nous avons mis au point notre propre technologie pour le codage par code à barres de l’ADN. Nous avons aussi évalué différentes méthodes de prélèvements afin d’identifier laquelle est la plus acceptable pour les femmes et pour leur médecin, tout en permettant de voir le nombre le plus élevé de cellules anormales.
Nos résultats préliminaires révèlent que, grâce à un échantillon prélevé à l’intérieur de l’utérus, on obtient la meilleure proportion de cellules cancéreuses pour ce qui est des cancers de l’ovaire/des trompes de Fallope ainsi que des cancers de l’utérus.
L’objectif du projet présenté dans ces pages est de mettre au point, en nous fondant sur la découverte susmentionnée, un test pouvant être utilisé comme outil de dépistage pour détecter le cancer de l’endomètre, de l’ovaire et des trompes de Fallope à un stade très précoce.
Nous recrutons en ce moment des femmes actuellement atteintes du cancer de l’ovaire ou de l’endomètre ou chez qui l’on soupçonne l’existence de l’une de ces formes de cancer, de même que des femmes qui doivent subir une hystérectomie et une salpingectomie +/- une ovariectomie pour diverses affections bénignes, afin que ces dernières servent de groupe témoins.
Nous allons développer et raffiner la technologie, et valider un test de dépistage précis et sécuritaire, DOvEEgene, pour faire du dépistage chez les femmes, afin de diagnostiquer le cancer de l’utérus, des trompes de Fallope et de l’ovaire à un stade suffisamment précoce pour sauver des vies.

Admissibilité

Fourchette d’âge des femmes admissibles à l’étude :      18 ans et plus   (Femmes adultes, aînées)
Sexe admissible à l’étude :      Féminin
Acceptation de volontaires en santé :      Non
Méthode d’échantillonnage :      Échantillon non probabiliste

Population étudiée
Les hôpitaux participants tiennent chaque semaine plusieurs cliniques de gynécologie et de gynécologie oncologique courantes. Les cas concernés incluent des femmes devant subir une chirurgie visant l’ablation d’une tumeur, en raison d’un cancer des voies génitales supérieures, dont l’existence est prouvée ou soupçonnée. Les groupes témoins comprennent des femmes qui doivent subir une hystérectomie, une salpingectomie bilatérale (ablation des trompes de Fallope) avec/sans ovariectomie bilatérale (ablation des ovaires) dans le but de traiter des affections bénignes.

Critères
Cas retenus :
•    Sujets chez qui la présence d’un cancer des voies génitales supérieures a été confirmée ou dont l’existence est soupçonnée
•    Participantes devant subir une chirurgie visant l’ablation d’une tumeur
Cas retenus pour le groupe témoin :
• Sujets devant subir une hystérectomie, une salpingectomie bilatérale, avec ou sans ovariectomie bilatérale, pour des affections supposément bénignes
 Personnes-ressources et emplacements
Choisir de participer à une étude constitue une décision personnelle importante. Discutez avec votre médecin et avec les membres de votre famille ou avec vos amis de votre décision de participer à une étude. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la présente étude, votre médecin ou vous-même pouvez communiquer avec le personnel responsable de la recherche, en vous adressant à l’une des personnes-ressources nommées ci-après.

Personnes-ressources

Personne-ressource : Dre Lucy Gilbert,
M.D., M.Sc., FRCOG    514-934-1934, poste 34049    lucy.gilbert@mcgill.ca

Personne-ressource : Dre Claudia Martins, Ph. D.    514-934-1934, poste 35249    claudia.martins@mcgill.ca

Emplacements

(Québec) Canada
Hôpital général juif    Recrutement
Montréal (Québec) Canada  H3T 1E2
Personne-ressource : Shannon Salvador, M.D.    514-340-8222, poste 3144    shannon.salvador@mcgill.ca   

Hôpital Royal Victoria (site Glen)    Recrutement
Montréal (Québec) Canada  H4A 3J1
Personne-ressource : Dre Lucy Gilbert, M.D., M.Sc., FRCOG    514-934-1934, poste 34049    lucy.gilbert@mcgill.ca   

Personne-ressource : Dre Claudia Martins, Ph. D.    514-934-1934, poste 35249    claudia.martins@mcgill.ca   

Promoteurs et collaborateurs
Université McGill
Centre universitaire de santé McGill (CUSM)
Génome Québec
Université Johns Hopkins
Centre hospitalier de l'Université de Montréal (CHUM)
Hôpital général juif

Chercheurs

Chercheuse principale :    Dre Lucy Gilbert, M.D., M.Sc., FRCOG    Professeure, Université McGill
Directeur de l’étude :    Ioannis Ragoussis, Ph. D.    Génome Québec

Renseignements complémentaires

Publications :
Gilbert L, Basso O, Sampalis J, Karp I, Martins C, Feng J, Piedimonte S, Quintal L, Ramanakumar AV, Takefman J, Grigorie MS, Artho G, Krishnamurthy S; DOvE Study Group. Assessment of symptomatic women for early diagnosis of ovarian cancer: results from the prospective DOvE pilot project. Lancet Oncol. 2012 Mar;13(3):285-91. doi: 10.1016/S1470-2045(11)70333-3.
Kinde I, Bettegowda C, Wang Y, Wu J, Agrawal N, Shih IeM, Kurman R, Dao F, Levine DA, Giuntoli R, Roden R, Eshleman JR, Carvalho JP, Marie SK, Papadopoulos N, Kinzler KW, Vogelstein B, Diaz LA Jr. Evaluation of DNA from the Papanicolaou test to detect ovarian and endometrial cancers. Sci Transl Med. 2013 Jan 9;5(167):167ra4. doi: 10.1126/scitranslmed.3004952.