Honours and awards

Canada's Top 40 Research Hospitals

Congratulations to each of the following RI-MUHC researchers!

John Bergeron received an Honorary Investigator appointment to the Research Institute of the McGill University Health Centre (RI-MUHC) in September 2023. This appointment recognizes his major scientific contributions in the area of cellular trafficking, including seminal discoveries in calnexin biology that have earned an enduring place in the textbooks of cell biology. In addition, our research community is indebted to his foundational efforts in the field of proteomics, not only at the RI-MUHC and McGill University, but through his contribution to the establishment of the global Human Proteome Organization. Learn more

Jean Bourbeau has been named the 2024 Distinguished Lecturer in Respiratory Sciences by the Institute of Circulatory and Respiratory Health (ICRH) of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) and by the Canadian Thoracic Society (CTS). This award recognizes individuals who exemplify research excellence, a strong and reputable presence within Canada and on the international scene, and a meaningful impact in mentorship and training. Dr. Bourbeau will deliver the keynote lecture at the Canadian Respiratory Conference in April 2024. Learn more

Wei-Hsiang Huang is one of the winners of the Brain Canada Foundation's 2022 Future Leaders in Canadian Brain Research program. Supported by the Canada Brain Research Fund and anchored by a lead gift from the Azrieli Foundation, the Future Leaders in Canadian Brain Research program aims to accelerate novel and transformative research that will fundamentally change our understanding of nervous system function and dysfunction and their impact on health.

Emily McDonald is co-recipient of the 2023 Maude Abbott Prize from McGill University. A global expert on the appropriate use of medication, Dr. McDonald co-invented MedSafer, a licensed clinical decision tool for medication management. Learn more on the McGill University website.

Suzanne Morin received the Lifetime Achievement Award from Osteoporosis Canada. The award recognizes her remarkable determination, resilience, and dedication in championing the osteoporosis cause, and her record of tirelessly donating her expertise, efforts and enthusiasm to advance osteoporotic care. Learn more

Madhukar Pai was named a fellow of the Academy of Science, Royal Society of Canada. His innovative, multidisciplinary research on improving the care of tuberculosis has informed many national and international policies. His groundbreaking work on patient-centred assessment of quality of care in low- and middle-income countries has now been adapted in many countries. He is a passionate advocate for addressing inequities and power asymmetries in global health. Learn more

Sushmita Pamidi was appointed a member of the Council of Canadian Academies’ (CCA) Expert Panel on Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Practices in the Post-secondary Research System in fall 2023. Dr. Pamidi is part of an 11-member panel that will undertake an assessment of the evidence-based measures that organizations in Canada and around the world are implementing to achieve equity, diversity, and inclusion in research and academia. Learn more on the CCA website.

Nitika Pant Pai is the winner of the 2023 Haile T. Debas Prize from McGill University. As part of her large research program on HIV/STIs, she co-created nine innovative programs using smart technology to improve access and increase linkages to quality care for patients with HIV/STIs in marginalized populations. Learn more on the McGill University website.

Steven Paraskevas is the 2023 recipient of the Excellence in Leadership Award from the Canadian Society of Transplantation. Praised for his vision and commitment to improving the care of transplant patients at the McGill University Health Centre, Dr. Paraskevas was also recognized for his leadership in developing transplant programs. Learn more

Janusz Rak was named a fellow of the Academy of Science, Royal Society of Canada. He introduced a new dimension into cancer studies by demonstrating that oncogenic molecules may propagate throughout tumour microenvironment, and systemically, as cargo of extracellular vesicles (exosomes). His work links intracellular cancer causation to multicellular host tissue responses, including vascular pathologies, such as tumour-associated angiogenesis and thrombosis, and provides the basis for using exosomes in liquid biopsy and molecular diagnosis of cancer. Learn more

Rita Suri received the Marcel Dufresne Award (Montreal chapter) for Volunteer of the Year from the Kidney Foundation of Canada. She is among the volunteers whose outstanding contributions were recognized through the chapters’ and Quebec Branch’s 2022 Recognition Awards. Learn more

Don Vinh was named a Fellow of the Infectious Diseases Society of America (IDSA). One of the highest honours in the field of infectious diseases, IDSA fellowship is bestowed on physicians and scientists in recognition of their professional excellence and significant service to the profession. Learn more


—published August 2023 – July 2024

Please send your news for this page to


See Archives