null Honours and awards published January 16, 2019

Congratulations to each of the following RI-MUHC investigators:

Sasha Bernatsky, who received the Knowledge Translation (KT) Practice Award, sponsored by Amgen Canada, from The Arthritis Alliance of Canada. This prize recognizes a contribution to arthritis research in Canada that increases the application and uptake of evidence to bridge research-practice gaps.

James Brophy, Nada Jabado and Lily Hechtman, elected fellows of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences in 2018. As such, they were among 44 Canadians recognized for their leadership in the health sciences, one of the highest honours for individuals in the Canadian health sciences community.

Robert Brouillette received an Honorary Investigator appointment to the Research Institute of the McGill University Health Centre in recognition of his significant accomplishments and contribution to research at the Montreal Children’s Hospital of the MUHC and McGill University, and his impressive national and international profile in his field.

Amrita Daftary, Nitika Pant Pai and Theresa Gyorkos, nominated to the first Canadian Women in Global Health List in 2018 by the Canadian Society for International Health.

Gerald Fried, selected to receive the Meritorious Service Cross (Civil Division) from the Governor General of Canada, to honour his remarkable achievements accomplished over a limited time period. Dr. Fried was also elected Chair of the Board of Regents of the American College of Surgeons this fall.

Carolyn Freeman, who received the 2018 Physics in Medicine & Biology (PMB) citations prize. This prize recognizes the PMB paper that received the most citations in the preceding five years. Collaborating with her on this paper were senior author Issam El Naqa (University of Michigan) and first author Martin Vallières, a postdoctoral fellow supervised by Jan Seuntjens at the RI-MUHC.

Lucy Gilbert and Kris Jardon, whose work in cancer research with MUHC colleague Xing Zeng was judged one of the 10 top discoveries of 2018 by Québec Science magazine. The team developed a non-invasive test to detect the presence of mutations in ovarian and uterine cells, allowing doctors to act before the illness gets worse and becomes incurable.

Emily McDonald, recognized as the 2018 winner of the Prix Jeune femme en sport, santé et mieux-être by the Women’s Y Foundation.

Madhukar Pai, invited to the first-ever UN High Level Meeting on Tuberculosis in September 2018. Heads of state, researchers and philanthropists gathered at UN Headquarters to discuss how to address the world’s most deadly infectious diseases at UN Headquarters.

Nitika Pant Pai, awarded membership in the College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists by the Royal Society of Canada.

Robyn Tamblyn, named the 2018 Laureate of the Justice Emmett Hall Memorial Foundation and of the 2018 Peggy Leatt Award from the University of Toronto’s Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation.

George Thanassoulis, awarded the 2018 John J. Day M.D. award of excellence from the Heart and Stroke Foundation. This award of excellence in research is granted annually to the researcher from McGill University who received the highest evaluation in the grant-in-aid competition in cardiovascular research.

Mark Ware, who delivered the 41st annual Osler Lectureship at McGill University, titled “One hundred years of cannabis: a journey from William Osler to the modern era.”

—published January 16, 2019; updated February 3, 2022

Please send your news for this page to