Newsletter - Banner


Asset Publisher

Canada's Top 40 Research Hospitals

Congratulations to each of the following RI-MUHC researchers!

Please send your news for this page to

Michal Abrahamowicz was named one of the Best Reviewers of 2018 by the Pharmacoepidemiology and Drug Safety Journal. Learn more

Susan Bartlett was keynote speaker at the PROMIS Health Organization’s Scientific Meeting in San Diego, CA, in October 2019. Her topic was “The Legacy of PROs in Rheumatology.” Learn more

Geneviève Bernard received the Prix d’excellence – Specialist of the Year award for Region 4 from the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. Learn more

Sasha Bernatsky gave a plenary oral presentation at the international American College of Rheumatology (ACR) Annual Scientific Meeting in Atlanta, Georgia, in November 2019. Her abstract, “Cancer Risk in a Large Inception SLE Cohort,” was featured in the ACR Spotlight program, and she also presented on “Big Data: Analytics, Registries and Beyond” at the ACR Conference pre-event. Learn more

Jean Bourbeau was named one of the 2019 distinguished CHEST educators at the annual meeting of the American College of Chest Physicians in October. This honour recognizes his commitment, involvement and leadership in CHEST education programs and activities. Learn more

Charles Bourque, Elham Emami, Zu-hua Gao, Leonard Levin, Errol B. Marliss, Cécile Rousseau and Kevin Schwartzman were inducted fellows of the 2019 Canadian Academy of Health Sciences in September. The new inductees were among 49 Canadians recognized for their leadership in the health sciences. Learn more

Francesco (Franco) Carli was elected Chairman of the American Prehabilitation Society. The American Prehabilitation Society regroups doctors and health practitioners from across the United States and encourages the development of Peri Operative Programs (POP) in hospitals. Learn more

Daniel Dufort received the 2019 Pfizer Research Award of Excellence from the Montreal Children’s Hospital Foundation. Learn more

George Fantus received the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award from Diabetes Canada for his longstanding contribution to the Canadian diabetes community and leadership in diabetes research. Learn more

Gerald Fried was appointed Associate Dean, Education, Technology & Innovation and Director of the Steinberg Centre for Simulation and Interactive Learning, both positions within the Faculty of Medicine, McGill University. Learn more

Dick Menzies received one of two research prizes from the Fédération des médecins spécialistes du Québec in November 2019 for his article, “Four Months of Rifampin or Nine Months of Isoniazid for Latent Tuberculosis in Adults.”

Ronald B. Postuma was listed among the world’s most cited and influential researchers by the respected research news website, Web of Science. Learn more

Bernard Robaire was named recipient of the Jansen Distinguished Service Award from the Society for the Study of Reproduction. The award recognizes an individual who has demonstrated unselfish service and leadership in advancing the discipline of reproductive biology. Learn more

Giada Sebastiani was elected the sole North American panel member for EACS Guidelines (co-morbidities panel) by the European Aids Clinical Society (EACS). Learn more

Robyn Tamblyn was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. Learn more

—published August 2019 – July 2020

See Archive - Honours and Awards